In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Historical News and Notices


The 2018 Nominating Committee, consisting of Lesley J. Gordon, University of Alabama, chair; Edward E. Baptist, Cornell University; Gaines M. Foster, Louisiana State University; Cherisse Jones-Branch, Arkansas State University; and Randy J. Sparks, Tulane University, has made the following nominations:

For Vice President/President-Elect:

Steven Hahn, New York University

For Executive Council:

Charles C. Bolton, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Cynthia A. Kierner, George Mason University

Rose C. Thevenin, Florida Memorial University

Steven Hahn is a professor of history at New York University, where he specializes in the international history of slavery, emancipation, and race as well as the social and political history of the "long nineteenth century" in the United States. Hahn is the author of The Roots of Southern Populism: Yeoman Farmers and the Transformation of the Georgia Upcountry, 1850-1890 (New York, 1983), winner of the Allan Nevins Prize and the Frederick Jackson Turner Award; A Nation Under Our Feet: Black Political Struggles in the Rural South from Slavery to the Great Migration (Cambridge, Mass., 2003), winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the Bancroft Prize, and the Merle Curti Award; and A Nation without Borders: The United States and Its World in an Age of Civil Wars, 1830-1910 (New York, 2016), among other books. Hahn is currently teaching in New York University's Prison Education Program.

Charles C. Bolton is the associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and a professor of history at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, where he specializes in politics and race in the twentieth-century U.S. South. The author of William F. Winter and the New Mississippi: A Biography (Jackson, Miss., 2013) and The Hardest Deal of All: The Battle over School Integration in Mississippi, 1870-1980 (Jackson, Miss., 2005), Bolton is currently at work on a book project about the home front in the Deep South during World War II.

Cynthia A. Kierner is a professor of history at George Mason University, where she specializes in women and gender and the early U.S. South. Past president of the Southern Association for Women Historians, Kierner is the author of Martha Jefferson Randolph, Daughter of Monticello: Her Life and Times (Chapel Hill, 2012) and The Contrast: Manners, Morals, and Authority in the Early American Republic (New York, 2007), among other titles. Kierner is currently at work on Inventing Disaster: The Culture of Calamity from Jamestown to Jonestown (University of North Carolina Press, forthcoming).

Rose C. Thevenin is an associate professor of history at Florida Memorial University, where she specializes in the Black Panther Party, black radicalism, and the history of Florida. She is a coeditor of the three-volume Encyclopedia of [End Page 515] the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture (Santa Barbara, Calif., 2008) and has been a visiting scholar at Stanford University, Harvard University, and Columbia University. From 2010 to 2014, she served as national vice director of the Association of Black Women Historians.

In accordance with Article IX of the SHA constitution, these nominations will become effective following the annual meeting in Louisville this year, unless fifty members present a petition for an alternative nominee by September 1, 2019. For details on the procedure to be followed in that event, see the constitution on the SHA website: These council members will serve a three-year term starting in November 2020.


SHA vice president Thavolia Glymph has appointed the following Program Committee co-chairs for the 2020 meeting in Memphis: Kendra Taira Field, Tufts University; Joseph P. Reidy, Howard University; and Randy J. Sparks, Tulane University.

The 2020 Program Committee chairs have issued a call for papers for the eighty-sixth annual meeting, which will be held in Memphis, November 19-22, 2020. All submissions should be made electronically through the SHA website,, starting June 1, 2019. The deadline for submissions is September 15, 2019; the online portal will close at midnight that day. Please remember that the SHA Executive Council has recently revised the rules for eligibility. In the past, the Association had followed a strict "two-year off...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 515-523
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.