In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • JHP Announcements

The Kristeller-Popkin Travel Fellowships

The Board of Directors of the Journal of the History of Philosophy is pleased to announce the Kristeller-Popkin Travel Fellowships program for 2012.

The fellowships are in recognition of the scholarship and generous support that two of the founding members of the Board have given to the Journal: Paul Oskar Kristeller, the renowned Renaissance scholar, and Richard H. Popkin, the first editor of this journal and noted historian of skepticism.

Two awards of up to $4,000 (depending upon the project budget) are offered annually to young scholars in the history of philosophy to defray expenses while traveling to do research. Applicants must have received their PhD, but may not have received them more than six years prior to applying. Applicants who do not receive awards in one year's competition are invited to apply in successive years.

Application forms can be obtained from the JHP website ( or by writing to Professor Lloyd P. Gerson, Department of Philosophy, University of Toronto, 170 St. George, Toronto, Ontario, M5R 2M8, Canada; or by email:

The deadline for applications is December 1, 2011. Awards will be announced in April, 2012.

Announcing the Recipients of the 2011 Fellowships

The Board of Directors congratulates the recipients of the Kristeller-Popkin Travel Fellowships for 2011:

Anne Pollok, Stanford University, for "Critical Edition of Moses Mendelssohn's Phaedon and Other Writings on the 'Destiny of Humankind'."

Vincent Guillin, Université du Québec à Montréal, for "Early French Reception of John Stuart Mill's Writings and Ideas." [End Page 389]



Additional Information

Print ISSN
p. 389
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.