North American Academic Library Pricing Tiers

For the purposes of pricing, Project MUSE categorizes North American academic libraries into tiers based upon their placement in The Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education (2000 edition). This criterion was chosen because it represents, in essence, the level of research activity at an institution and its relation to the institution's mission. Carnegie Classification is a commonly-agreed upon typology, is determined by a respected third-party organization, and had widespread acceptance among MUSE subscribers as an acceptable categorization tool during pricing research. Because Canadian institutions are not classified by the Carnegie Foundation, these institutions have been "mapped" into the five pricing tiers based upon similar criteria related to research activity and educational mission.

Tier 5

Doctoral Research Extensive institutions
Canadian ARL members

Tier 4

Doctoral Research Intensive institutions
Master's I institutions
Canadian institutions with graduate (Doctoral/Masters) programs (not ARL members)

Tier 3

Master's II institutions
Baccalaureate Liberal Arts institutions
Canadian institutions with 3 or less Masters programs and no doctoral programs

Tier 2

Baccalaureate General institutions
Baccalaureate/Associates institutions
Canadian institutions with Baccalaureate programs, no graduate programs

Tier 1

Associates institutions
Canadian institutions with only 2-year programs