

A Journal of Literature, Science, and Technology

Volume 32, Number 2, 2024 ISSN 1063-1801

Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the Society for Literature, Science and the Arts in cooperation with the Georgia Institute of Technology

Editors of Configurations

Melissa M. Littlefield, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Rajani Sudan, Southern Methodist University

Book Review Editor

Jay Labinger, California Institute of Technology

Editorial Assistants

Dusty Bacon, University of Illinois, Urbana- Champaign

Past Editors

Ronald Schleifer, University of Oklahoma

Robert Markley, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Alan Rauch, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Hugh Crawford, Georgia Institute of Technology

Kenneth J. Knoespel, Georgia Institute of Technology

James Bono, SUNY/Buffalo

Manuscript Editor

Patrice Lord

Board of Advisors

Stacy Alaimo, University of Oregon

Charles Bazerman, University of California, Santa Barbara

lan Bogost, Washington University, St. Louis

Joyce Chaplin, Harvard University

Bruce Clarke, Texas Tech University

Carol Colatrella, Georgia Institute of Technology

Lucinda Cole, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Martin Danahay, Brock University

Tore Frängsmyr, University of Uppsala, Sweden

Mark Greenberg, Drexel University

Richard Grusin, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Donna Haraway, University of California, Santa Cruz

Sandra Harding, University of Delaware and UCLA

David Harpp, McGill University

N. Katherine Hayles, *Duke University*

Timothy Lenoir, Stanford University

Robert Markley, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Deidre McCloskey, University of Illinois, Chicago

Rob Mitchell, Duke University

Timothy Morton, University of California, Davis

Richard Nash, Indiana University

Laura Otis, Emory University

Henry Petroski, Duke University

David Porush, MentorNet

Nigel Rothsfels, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Joseph Rouse, Wesleyan University

Londa Schiebinger, Stanford University

Ronald Schleifer, University of Oklahoma

Howard Segal, University of Maine

Steven Shapin, Harvard University

Steven Shaviro, Wayne State University

Sally Shuttleworth, University of Oxford, St Anne's College

Susan Squier, Pennsylvania State University

Barbara Stafford, University of Chicago

Elizabeth Wilson, Emory University