THE JOURNAL OF NEGRO EDUCATION

Founder Charles H. Thompson

Section Editors Ayana Allen-Hardy Derrick R. Brooms Mercedes E. Ebanks EDITORIAL STAFF Editor-in-Chief Ivory A. Toldson

Section Editors Donna Y. Ford Darrell C. Hucks

Editor-in-Chief Emeritus Frederick D. Harper

Associate Editor/Business Manager Lenda P. Hill

Administrative Secretary Cynthia Joseph

Book/Media Review Editor Krystal L. Williams

Web Site and Data Manager Swagata Pramanik

Section Editors Kmt G. Shockley Terri N. Watson Research/Marketing Assistant Serena Bradshaw

EDITORIAL/ADVISORY BOARD

Term Expiring 2022

Kenneth A. Anderson, Office of the Provost, Howard University

Rhonda Erica Baylor, School of Education and Urban Studies, Morgan State University

Derrick R. Brooms, Sociology & Africana Studies, University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Mercedes E. Ebanks, School of Education, Howard University

Donna Y. Ford, College of Education and Human Ecology, Ohio State University

Adriel A. Hilton, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Southern University at New Orleans

Brandi Hinnant-Crawford, Educational and Organizational Leadership Development, Clemson University

Jerlando F.L. Jackson, College of Education, Michigan State University

Kmt G. Shockley, Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, University of Houston

Terri N. Watson, Educational Leadership, School of Education, The City College of New York

Olga Michele Welch, School of Education, Duquesne University

Gary L. Williams, Institute for Intercultural Research, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Vivian Yenika-Agbaw, Department of Curriculum & Instruction, The Pennsylvania State University

Term Expiring 2023

Michael Cunningham, Department of Psychology, Tulane University

Henry T. Frierson, Professor Emeritus, University of Florida

Hugo Garcia, Department of Educational Psychology, Texas Tech University

Brianna P. Lemmons, Diana R. Garland School of Social Work, Baylor University

Kofi Lomotey, Human Services Department, Educational Leadership, Western Carolina University

Jeton McClinton, Department of Educational Leadership, Jackson State University

Brian L. McGowan, School of Education, American University

Comfort O. Okpala, College of Education, North Carolina A & T State University

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz, Teachers College, Columbia University

Demetrios Spyridakis, California Innovative Career Academy, Sacramento, California

Chezare A. Warren, College of Education, Michigan State University

Term Expiring 2024 and 2025

Ayana Allen-Handy, School of Education, Drexel University

Karen Biraimah, School of Teacher, Learning and Leadership, University of Central Florida

LaVar J. Charleston, Office of Diversity & Inclusion, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Jelisa Clark, Department of Sociology and Interdisciplinary Studies, Fayetteville State University

Jarrod E. Druery, Department of Educational Leadership, Northern Kentucky University

Cherrel Miller Dyce, School of Education, Elon University

Sydney Freeman, Jr., College of Education, University of Idaho

O'Shan D. Gadsden, Department of Psychology, Norfolk State University

Lois Harrison-Jones, Professor Emerita, Howard University

Darrell C. Hucks, Education Department, Keene State College

Tamara Bertrand Jones, Department of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, Florida State University Vinetta C. Jones, Professor Emerita, Howard University

Tiffany Jones, Deputy Director, Postsecondary Education, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Kofi LeNiles, School of Education, Towson University

La Tara Osborne Lampkin, Florida Center for Reading Research, Florida State University

DeShawn Preston, Program Manager/Research Associate, United Negro College Fund

Ashley L. White, Department of Rehabilitation Psychology & Special Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Kimberly A. White-Smith, LeFetra College of Education, University of LaVerne

Eva Zygmunt, Department of Early Childhood, Youth and Family Studies, Ball State University

YOUNG SCHOLARS EDITORIAL BOARD

(Term Expiring 2022)

Tamara McClain (Texas Tech University) (Term Expiring 2023, 2024, and 2025)

Serena J. Bradshaw (Howard University Darnell Leatherwood (University of Chicago), Natasha McClendon (Georgia State University) Marcus Smith (University of Cincinnati), Dara Williams (Howard University)

INDEFINITE TERM

Dawn Williams, Dean, School of Education, Howard University Faustine C. Jones-Wilson, Editor-in-Chief Emerita Rc Saravanabhavan, Editor-in-Chief Emeritusy

ACKNOWLEDGMENT