Elaine J. Lawless
    Department of English
    107 Tate Hall
    University of Missouri
    Columbia, Missouri 65211

    Managing Editor

    LuAnne K. Roth

    Associate Editor

    Lisa Rathje

    Assistant Editor

    Shelley Ingram

    Editorial Assitants

    Brandy Taylor
    Willow G. Mullins

    Production Editor

    Clydette Wantland

    JAF Editorial Board

    Diane E. Goldstein, Memorial University of Newfoundland
    Barbro Klein, The Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study
    Debora Kodish, Philadelphia Folklore Project
    Sw. Anand Prahlad, University of Missouri
    Jeff Todd Titon, Brown University
    Patricia A. Turner, University of California Davis

    Book Review Editor

    Patricia Sawin
    Department of Anthropology
    301 Alumni Building
    University of North Carolina
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599-3115

    Sound Recordings Review Editor

    Peter Narváez
    Department of Folklore
    Memorial University of Newfoundland
    St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada A1C5S7

    Exhibitions and Events Review Editor

    Pravina Shukla
    Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology
    Indiana University
    504 North Fess Avenue
    Bloomington, Indiana 47408-3890

    Film and Videotape Review Editor

    Daniel Wojcik
    Department of English
    University of Oregon
    Eugene, Oregon 97403

    Journal of American Folklore is produced with the generous assistance of the Department of English and the College of Arts and Science, University of Missouri at Columbia. JAF is indexed in Project MUSE.

Officers of the American Folklore Society


    Michael Owen Jones, University of California, Los Angeles

    Past President

    Jack Santino, Bowling Green State University

    Executive Director

    Tim Lloyd, Ohio State University