publisher colophon


Richard N. Cooper is Maurits C. Boas Professor of International Economics at Harvard University, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and author of Environment and Resource Policies for the World Economy.


Peter Cramton is Professor of Economics at the University of Maryland and a leading expert in auction theory and practice, and has consulted for a number of governments regarding climate policies.


Ottmar Edenhofer is Professor of the Economics of Climate Change at the TU Berlin, Director of the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change in Berlin, and Chief Economist at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research. From 2008 to 2015, he served as Co-chair of Working Group III of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.


Christian Gollier is Director of the Toulouse School of Economics, winner of the 2001 Paul A. Samuelson Award, and author of Pricing the Planet’s Future: The Economics of Discounting in an Uncertain World.


Éloi Laurent is a senior economist and scientific advisor at OFCE (Sciences-Po Center for economic research, Paris) and visiting professor (Stanford University). He was an aide to the French prime minister (2000–2002).


David JC MacKay, FRS FInstP, was the Regius Professor of Engineering in the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge and from 2009 to 2014 was Chief Scientific Adviser to the UK Department of Energy and Climate Change.


William Nordhaus was President of the American Economic Association in 2014 and is the Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University. He has been publishing papers on climate change since 1977.


Axel Ockenfels is Professor of Economics at the University of Cologne, Speaker of the Excellence Center for Social and Economic Behavior, recipient of the Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz prize, and has consulted firms and governments regarding climate policies and market design.


Ian Parry is Principal Environmental Fiscal Policy Expert in the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department, specializing in fiscal analysis of climate change, environment, and energy issues.


Joseph E. Stiglitz is the 2001 Nobel Laureate in Economics, recipient of the John Bates Clark Medal (1979), and a professor at Columbia University. He is a former senior vice president and chief economist of the World Bank.


Steven Stoft holds a PhD in Economics from the University of California at Berkeley and has consulted for the World Bank, the US Department of Energy, and the United Kingdom’s Department of Energy and Climate Change.


Jean Tirole is the 2014 Nobel Laureate in Economics and Chairman of the Board of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Foundation at the Toulouse School of Economics.


Martin L. Weitzman is Professor of Economics at Harvard University. Previously he was on the faculties of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Yale. He specializes in environmental economics.

Previous Chapter


Next Chapter

Table of Contents

Additional Information

Related ISBN
MARC Record
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.