In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Contributors 225 Contributors Kevin Adams is Associate Professor of History at Kent State University. A specialist in the study of War and Society in the United States, he has published Class and Race in the Frontier Army: Military Life in the West, 1870–1890 (2009). He served as Associate Editor of the journal Civil War History until the end of 2015. Adams currently is working on a series of projects that examines the U.S. Army’s attempts to enforce federal power in the aftermath of the Civil War and Reconstruction. Edward O. Frantz is Professor of History at the University of Indianapolis and Director of the Institute for Civic Leadership & Mayoral Archives. He is the editor of Companion to the Reconstruction Presidents, 1865–1881 (2014) and the author of The Door of Hope: Republican Presidents and the First Southern Strategy, 1877–1933 (2011). R. Blakeslee Gilpin, Assistant Professor of History at Tulane University , won the Southern Historical Association’s 2010 C. Vann Woodward Prize for the best dissertation in southern history. His first book, John Brown Still Lives! America’s Long Reckoning with Violence, Equality, and Change (2011), was a finalist for the Gilder Lehrman Center’s Frederick Douglass Prize. Gilpin also has edited (with Rose Styron) Selected Letters of William Styron (2012). J. Vincent Lowery is Associate Professor of Humanistic Studies and History at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. He co-edited (with John David Smith) The Dunning School: Historians, Race, and the Meaning of 225 contributors 226 Reconstruction (2013) and contributed an essay on Paul Leland Haworth to that collection. The Historical Society of North Carolina awarded Lowery the R. D. W. Connor Award for his essay “The Transatlantic Dreams of the Port City Prophet: The Rural Reform Campaign of Hugh MacRae,” which appeared in the North Carolina Historical Review in July 2013. Shepherd W. McKinley is Senior Lecturer of History at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He is the coauthor of North Carolina: New Directions for an Old Land (2006) and author of Stinking Stones and Rocks of Gold: Phosphate, Fertilizer, and Industrialization in Postbellum South Carolina (2014), winner of the 2014 George C. Rogers Jr. Book Award from the South Carolina Historical Society. He is also co-editor of North Carolina during the First World War, 1914–1922 (forthcoming). K. Stephen Prince is Assistant Professor of History at the University of South Florida. He is the author of Stories of the South: Race and the Reconstruction of Southern Identity, 1865–1915 (2014) and Radical Reconstruction: A Brief History with Documents (2015). He is currently working on a study of Robert Charles and the 1900 New Orleans riot. John David Smith is the Charles H. Stone Distinguished Professor of American History at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He is the author or editor of many books including, most recently, We Ask Only for Even-Handed Justice: Black Voices from Reconstruction, 1865–1877 (2014) and Soldiering for Freedom: How the Union Army Recruited, Trained, and Deployed the U.S. Colored Troops (2014, with Bob Luke). Smith received the Mayflower Society Award for Nonfiction for Black Judas: William Hannibal Thomas and “The American Negro” (2000). Andrew Zimmerman is Professor of History at The George Washington University. He is the author of Anthropology and Antihumanism in Imperial Germany (2001) and Alabama in Africa: Booker T. Washington, the German Empire, and the Globalization of the New South (2010). He is also the editor of Marx, Engels, and the Civil War in the United States (forthcoming in 2016). Zimmerman is currently writing a history of the American Civil War as part of a transnational revolution against slave labor and wage labor. ...


Additional Information

Related ISBN
MARC Record
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.