In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

217 BIBLIOGRAPHY Bacon, Oliver N. A History of Natick. Boston: Damrell & Moore, 1856. Badger, Daniel D. Badger’s Illustrated catalogue of cast-iron architecture. New York: Dover Publications, c.1981. Bailey, Henry T. “An Architect of the Old School.” New England Magazine 25.3 (November 1901): 326–49. Barnard, Henry. School Architecture, or Contributing to the Improvement of School-houses in the United States. Cincinnati: H. W. Derby & Co., 1854. Bryan, John Morrill. “Boston’s Granite Architecture.” Ph.D. diss., Boston University , 1972. Bryant, Gridley J.F. Specifications of Public Buildings of which Gridley J.F. Bryant Furnished Plans and Instructions. Two volumns. Massachusetts State Library, 1850–1853. Bunting, Bainbridge. Houses of Boston’s Back Bay. Cambridge: Belknap Press, 1967. Cleveland, Henry R. “American Architecture.” North American Review 93 (October 1836): 356–84. City Council. The City Hall of Lynn. Lynn: Thomas P. Nichols, 1869. City of Boston. City Document no. 21: Report of the Superintendent of Public Buildings. Boston, 1851. ———. City Document no. 61: Final Report of the Committee on the Erection of the New Jail. Boston, 1851. ———. City Document no. 98: Concerning the Publication of a History of the City Hall. Boston, 1866. ———. Report of the Committee on Public Buildings in Relation to a New City Hall. Boston : J. F. Farwell & Co., 1862. Coburn, Louise Helen. Skowhegan on the Kennebec. Skowegan: Indpendent Press Reporter, 1941. Committee on Public Buildings. The City Hall, Boston. Corner Stone Laid Monday, December 22, 1862. Dedicated September 17, 1865. Boston: Alfred Mudge & Son, 1866. Curron, Kathleen. The Romanesque Revival: Religion, Politics, and Transitional Exchange . University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2003. Davis, Helen W., Edward M. Hatch, and David G. Wright. “Alexander Parris, Innovator in Naval Facility Architecture.” Industrial Archaeology 2.1 (1976): 3–22. Dearborn, Nathaniel. Boston Notions: Being an Authentic and Concise Account of that Village from 1630 to 1847. Boston: Nathaniel Dearborn, 1848. Ellstein, Rochelle S. “William Washburn and the Egyptian Revival in Boston.” Old Time New England 70 (1980): 63–81. Floyd, Margaret Henderson. Architectural Education in Boston. Boston: Boston Architectural Center, 1989. 218 Bibliography Follett, Jean A. “The Hotel Pelham: A New Building Type for America.” American Art Journal 30 (Autumn 1983): 58–73. Gilman, Arthur. “Architecture in the United States.” North American Review 58 (April 1844): 436–80. ———. “Landscape Gardening.” North American Review 59 (October 1844): 302–29. ———. “Rural Architecture in America.” North American Review 68 (January 1843): 1–17. Goody, Marvin E., and Robert P. Walsh, eds. Boston Society of Architects: The First Hundred Years, 1867–1967. Boston: Boston Society of Architects, 1967. Hitchcock, Henry Russell, and William Seale. Temples of Democracy: The State Captiols of the United States of America. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1976. Holly, H. Hobart. “The Granite Railway.” Quincy (Mass.) History, no. 26 (Fall 1991): 1–4. Huxtable, Ada Louise. “Commercial Buildings, c.1850–1870, Gridley James Fox Bryant, Architect.” Progressive Architecture in America 39 (August 1958): 105–6. ———. “Granite Wharf, Warehouse, Office Buildings, c. 1923–1872, Boston, Massachuestts , Alexander Parris, G.J.F. Bryant, Others, Architects.” Progressive Architecture in America. 39 (June, 1958): 117–18. Johnson, Richard B. Seven and Eight Park Street: A Brief History of the Home of the Union Club. Boston: Union Club, ca. 1976). Jordy, William H. Buildings of Rhode Island. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. Kilham, Walter H. Boston after Bulfinch. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1946. Kirker, Harold. The Architecture of Charles Bulfinch. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1978. Kirker, Harold, and James Kirker. Bulfinch’s Boston, 1787–1817. New York: Oxford University Press, 1964. Kirker, Harold, and Van Zantan, David. “Jean Lemoulnier in Boston, 1846–1852.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 3 (October 1972): 204–8. Lee, Antoinette J. Architects to the Nation: The Rise and Decline of the Supervising Architect ’s Office. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Linden-Ward, Blanche. Silent City on a Hill: Landscapes of Memory and Boston’s Mount Auburn Cemetery. Columbus: Ohio University Press, 1989. Rev. and expanded edition to be published as Blanche Linden, Silent City on a Hill: Picturesque Landscapes of Memory and Boston’s Mount Auburn Cemetery (Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press / Library of American Landscape History, 2007). MacKay, Robert B. “The Charles Street Jail: Hegemony of a Design.” Ph.D. diss., Boston University, 1980. Meeks, Carroll L. V. The Railroad Station: An Architectural History. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1956. Myers, Denys Peter. “Isaiah Rogers, 1800–1869.” In A Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Maine, vol. 3, no. 2. Augusta: Maine Historic Preservation Commission , 1986. Bibliography 219...

pdf

Additional Information

ISBN
9781613761540
Related ISBN
9781558495555
MARC Record
OCLC
645893365
Pages
240
Launched on MUSE
2012-01-01
Language
English
Open Access
No
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.