In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

217 BIBLIOGRAPHY Bacon, Oliver N. A History of Natick. Boston: Damrell & Moore, 1856. Badger, Daniel D. Badger’s Illustrated catalogue of cast-iron architecture. New York: Dover Publications, c.1981. Bailey, Henry T. “An Architect of the Old School.” New England Magazine 25.3 (November 1901): 326–49. Barnard, Henry. School Architecture, or Contributing to the Improvement of School-houses in the United States. Cincinnati: H. W. Derby & Co., 1854. Bryan, John Morrill. “Boston’s Granite Architecture.” Ph.D. diss., Boston University , 1972. Bryant, Gridley J.F. Specifications of Public Buildings of which Gridley J.F. Bryant Furnished Plans and Instructions. Two volumns. Massachusetts State Library, 1850–1853. Bunting, Bainbridge. Houses of Boston’s Back Bay. Cambridge: Belknap Press, 1967. Cleveland, Henry R. “American Architecture.” North American Review 93 (October 1836): 356–84. City Council. The City Hall of Lynn. Lynn: Thomas P. Nichols, 1869. City of Boston. City Document no. 21: Report of the Superintendent of Public Buildings. Boston, 1851. ———. City Document no. 61: Final Report of the Committee on the Erection of the New Jail. Boston, 1851. ———. City Document no. 98: Concerning the Publication of a History of the City Hall. Boston, 1866. ———. Report of the Committee on Public Buildings in Relation to a New City Hall. Boston : J. F. Farwell & Co., 1862. Coburn, Louise Helen. Skowhegan on the Kennebec. Skowegan: Indpendent Press Reporter, 1941. Committee on Public Buildings. The City Hall, Boston. Corner Stone Laid Monday, December 22, 1862. Dedicated September 17, 1865. Boston: Alfred Mudge & Son, 1866. Curron, Kathleen. The Romanesque Revival: Religion, Politics, and Transitional Exchange . University Park: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2003. Davis, Helen W., Edward M. Hatch, and David G. Wright. “Alexander Parris, Innovator in Naval Facility Architecture.” Industrial Archaeology 2.1 (1976): 3–22. Dearborn, Nathaniel. Boston Notions: Being an Authentic and Concise Account of that Village from 1630 to 1847. Boston: Nathaniel Dearborn, 1848. Ellstein, Rochelle S. “William Washburn and the Egyptian Revival in Boston.” Old Time New England 70 (1980): 63–81. Floyd, Margaret Henderson. Architectural Education in Boston. Boston: Boston Architectural Center, 1989. 218 Bibliography Follett, Jean A. “The Hotel Pelham: A New Building Type for America.” American Art Journal 30 (Autumn 1983): 58–73. Gilman, Arthur. “Architecture in the United States.” North American Review 58 (April 1844): 436–80. ———. “Landscape Gardening.” North American Review 59 (October 1844): 302–29. ———. “Rural Architecture in America.” North American Review 68 (January 1843): 1–17. Goody, Marvin E., and Robert P. Walsh, eds. Boston Society of Architects: The First Hundred Years, 1867–1967. Boston: Boston Society of Architects, 1967. Hitchcock, Henry Russell, and William Seale. Temples of Democracy: The State Captiols of the United States of America. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1976. Holly, H. Hobart. “The Granite Railway.” Quincy (Mass.) History, no. 26 (Fall 1991): 1–4. Huxtable, Ada Louise. “Commercial Buildings, c.1850–1870, Gridley James Fox Bryant, Architect.” Progressive Architecture in America 39 (August 1958): 105–6. ———. “Granite Wharf, Warehouse, Office Buildings, c. 1923–1872, Boston, Massachuestts , Alexander Parris, G.J.F. Bryant, Others, Architects.” Progressive Architecture in America. 39 (June, 1958): 117–18. Johnson, Richard B. Seven and Eight Park Street: A Brief History of the Home of the Union Club. Boston: Union Club, ca. 1976). Jordy, William H. Buildings of Rhode Island. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. Kilham, Walter H. Boston after Bulfinch. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1946. Kirker, Harold. The Architecture of Charles Bulfinch. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1978. Kirker, Harold, and James Kirker. Bulfinch’s Boston, 1787–1817. New York: Oxford University Press, 1964. Kirker, Harold, and Van Zantan, David. “Jean Lemoulnier in Boston, 1846–1852.” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 3 (October 1972): 204–8. Lee, Antoinette J. Architects to the Nation: The Rise and Decline of the Supervising Architect ’s Office. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Linden-Ward, Blanche. Silent City on a Hill: Landscapes of Memory and Boston’s Mount Auburn Cemetery. Columbus: Ohio University Press, 1989. Rev. and expanded edition to be published as Blanche Linden, Silent City on a Hill: Picturesque Landscapes of Memory and Boston’s Mount Auburn Cemetery (Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press / Library of American Landscape History, 2007). MacKay, Robert B. “The Charles Street Jail: Hegemony of a Design.” Ph.D. diss., Boston University, 1980. Meeks, Carroll L. V. The Railroad Station: An Architectural History. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1956. Myers, Denys Peter. “Isaiah Rogers, 1800–1869.” In A Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Maine, vol. 3, no. 2. Augusta: Maine Historic Preservation Commission , 1986. Bibliography 219...


Additional Information

Related ISBN
MARC Record
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.