In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

199 NOTES Introduction 1. Henry Turner Bailey, “An Architect of the Old School,” New England Magazine 25.3 (November 1901): 326–49. This biographical account by Bryant’s friend is the only good source on the architect’s life. Bailey had access to Bryant’s account books and letters (now lost), as well as his reminiscing in the final years of his life. 2. Obituary accounts appeared in the Boston Daily Advertiser, June 19, 1899, p. 4; Boston Globe, June 9, 1899, p. 12; Boston Herald, June 9, 1899, p. 1; Boston Morning Journal, June 9, 1899, p. 1; Boston Post, June 9, 1899, p. 4; and Boston Traveler , June 9, 1899, pp. 13, 14. All of these accounts drew from the same source, that is, information supplied by Henry Bailey. 3. Bainbridge Bunting was the first to make this observation, although he assumed that meant Bryant had a large office of draftsmen. Bainbridge Bunting, Houses of Boston’s Back Bay (Cambridge: Belknap Press, 1967), pp. 162–63. 4. John Hubbard Sturgis to Gridley J. F. Bryant, December 5, 1868, John H. Sturgis Papers, Boston Athenaeum. 5. Walter H. Kilham, Boston after Bulfinch (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1946), p. 67. 1. Granite Bred in the Bone 1. There are several accounts of the life of the elder Gridley Bryant. See, for example, Charles Stuart, Lives and Works of Civil and Military Engineers of America (New York: D. van Nostrand, 1871), pp. 119–31; Justin Winsor, ed., The Memorial History of Boston, vol. 4 (Boston: James R. Osgood & Co., 1881), 116–21. For an account by G. J. F. Bryant himself, see Boston Evening Courier, February 2, 1859, p. 4. Twentieth-century biographical dictionary entries build on these sources. 2. Gridley J. F. Bryant to Henry T. Bailey, undated letter cited in Bailey, “An Architect of the Old School,” p. 329. Young Bryant was also involved in the construction of this building. Alexander Parris, the architect responsible for preparing drawings for Solomon Willard’s design, was assisted by Bryant, then a student in his office. George M. Dexter to Loammi Baldwin, December 16, 1833, Loammi Baldwin Papers, Harvard University. Thanks to Sara Wermiel for this information. 3. Bulfinch has several biographers, but the best complete record of his work remains Harold Kirker, The Architecture of Charles Bulfinch (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1969). 4. George L. Vose, A Sketch of the Life and Work of Loammi Baldwin (Boston: Press of George H. Ellis, 1885). 5. Edward F. Zimmer, “The Architectural Career of Alexander Parris (1780–1852)” (Ph.D. diss., Boston University, 1984); Denys Peter Myers, “Isaiah Rogers, 1800–1869,” in A Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Maine, vol. 3, no. 2 (Augusta: Maine Historic Preservation Commission, 1986; this was a series of articles , printed separately and not paginated); William W. Wheildon, Memoir of Solomon Willard (Boston: Monument Association, 1865). Scholars interested in Alexander Parris should not fail to consult the “Alexander Parris Digital Poject” webpage featuring the architect’s drawings and other documents from various collections established by the State Library of Massachusetts: www.parrisproject.org. 6. The three brothers were George A., Charles H., and Edward W. Bryant. It is known that George worked in a shoe factory. Charles first worked as a farmer in Scituate, but later evidently became a mason. Nothing is known about Edward. Even less information is available on the six sisters, Eliza B., Frances E., Marcia J., Mary L., Eunice B., and Priscilla C. Bryant. Mary married Henry Merritt, a fisherman , and Priscilla married Edwin Studley, who also worked in a shoe factory. 7. Charles B. Stuart, Lives and Works of Civil and Military Engineers of America (New York: D. Van Nostrand, 1871), pp. 119–181. For a somewhat more critical view of Bryant’s involvement, see William H. Wheildon, Memoir of Solomon Willard: Architect and Superintendent of the Bunker Hill Monument (Boston: Bunker Hill Monument Association, 1865), pp. 107–12. 8. Stuart, Lives. See also Justin Winsor, The Memorial History of Boston, vol. 4 (Boston: James R. Osgood and Company, 1881), pp. 116–21. 9. Portsmouth Journal, October 9, 1841, p. 1. 10. E. C. Wines, “A Trip to Boston, In A Series of Letters to the Editor of the United States Gazette” (Boston: Charles C. Little and James Brown, 1838), pp. 207–8; Henry R. Cleveland, “American Architecture,” North American Review, no. 93 (October 1836): 363. 11. Kirker, Architecture of Charles Bulfinch. 12. The house, enlarged by Sears and later owners, now stands as part...

pdf

Additional Information

ISBN
9781613761540
Related ISBN
9781558495555
MARC Record
OCLC
645893365
Pages
240
Launched on MUSE
2012-01-01
Language
English
Open Access
No
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.