In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Educational Programs for Deaf Students

[End Page 95]

Schools and Programs in the United States

This listing provides directory information on schools and programs in the United States that enroll or provide services to children who are deaf or hard of hearing. Under each state is an alphabetical listing by city of (1) special schools and center programs (residential, day), (2) local programs, (3) other program types. To update or add a program listing for the next issue, contact Deirdre Mullervy, 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002, 202–651–5489 (fax), Deirdre.mullervy@gallaudet.edu.

For information such as grade levels covered, services available, and communication modes used, please see the chart on p. 149. Programs listed in the chart include only those that returned the American Annals of the Deaf 2020 Reference Issue Program Survey.

ALABAMA

Special Schools or Centers

Residential/Boarding and Day

Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind/Alabama School for the Deaf
205 South Street, PO Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161-0698
Voice: 256-761-3214
Videophone: 256-474-0237
Fax: 256-761-3278
Email: saunders.paul@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org/asd
Principal: Paul Saunders

Day Only

AIDB-Birmingham Regional Center
220 34th Street, South
Birmingham, AL 35222
Voice: 205-328-3989
Videophone: 205-623-0072
Fax: 205-323-3691
Email: Ware.Sandra@aidb.org
Website: https://www.aidb.org/Birmingham
Regional Director: Sandra Ware

AIDB-Dothan Regional Center
111 Medical Drive
Dothan, AL 36303
Voice: 334-677-6270
Videophone: 866-374-7429
Fax: 334-793-7044
Email: pileggi.anthony@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Regional Director: Athony Pileggi

AIDB-E.H. Gentry Facility
P.O. Box 698-EHG, 1105 Ft. Lashley Ave
Talladega, AL 35161
Voice: 256-761-3402
Videophone: 256-474-0916
Fax: 256-761-3450
Email: edmiston.jessica@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org/eh-gentry/
Executive Director: Jessica Edmiston

AIDB-Helen Keller School
1101 Fort Lashley Avenue
Talladega, AL 35161
Voice: 256-761-3250;
256-761-3251
Fax: 256-761-3377
Email: ward.amy@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Principal: Amy Ward

AIDB-Huntsville Regional Center
600 St. Clair Avenue, Bldg. 2
Huntsville, AL 35801
Voice: 256-539-7881
Fax: 256-532-0942
Email: beavers.isaac@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Regional Director: Isaac Beavers

AIDB-Mobile Regional Center
1050 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36604
Voice: 251-432-7777
Videophone: 251-281-2287
Fax: 251-432-3199
Email: whitfield.john@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Regional Director: Rev. John Whitfield

AIDB-Montgomery Regional Center
432 E. Jefferson St.
Montgomery, AL 36104
Voice: 334-262-0824
Fax: 334-262-7708
Email: savage.jenny@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Regional Director: Jenny Savage

AIDB-Shoals Regional Center
512 N. Main Street
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
Voice: 256-383-3503
Videophone: 334-245-9331
Fax: 256-383-3562
Email: pizza.stephanie@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Regional Director: Stephanie Pizza

AIDB-Talladega Regional Center
412 Cherry Street
Talladega, AL 35160
Voice: 256-761-3370
Videophone: 256-474-0634
Fax: 256-761-3693
Email: Little.Donte@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Director: Donte Little

AIDB Tuscaloosa Regional Center
2412 Skyland Boulevard East
Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Voice: 205-345-2883 [End Page 96]
Videophone: 205-210-4049
Cell phone: 205-493-0125
Fax: 205-345-4883
Email: stewart.robbie@aidb.org
Website: www.aidb.org
Director: Robbie Stewart

Preschool Center for the Deaf and Blind
1050 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36604
Voice: 251-433-1234
Videophone: 251-281-2287
TTY: 251-432-7777
Fax: 251-432-3199
Website: www.aidb.org/mobile
Director: Vacant

Regional School for the Deaf and Blind
3980 Burma Road
Mobile, AL 36693
Voice: 251-221-5454
Fax: 251-221-5455
Email: jsullivan@mcpss.com
Website: www.mcpss.com
Principal: Mandy Sullivan

Local Programs

Birmingham City Schools
P.O. Drawer 10007
Birmingham, AL 35202
Voice: 205-231-4766
Fax: 205-231-4781
Executive Director of Special Education: David Patterson

Blount County Special Schools
204 2nd Avenue, East
Oneonta, AL 35121
Voice: 205-625-4102
Fax: 205-625-4100
Email: bbrothers@blountboe.net
Website: www.blountboe.net
Special Education Coordinator: Becky Brothers-McGowan

Chambers County Schools
1298 Vocational Drive, PO...

pdf

Additional Information

ISSN
1543-0375
Print ISSN
0002-726X
Pages
pp. 95-173
Launched on MUSE
2021-09-07
Open Access
No
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.