In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Announcements
  • Nick Taylor

Steinbeck Research Fund Honors John Ditsky

Thanks to a generous donation from Mrs. C. Suzette Ditsky, emerging Steinbeck scholars will be able to utilize the outstanding resources in the Ball State University Libraries. The Steinbeck Research Fund has been established in honor of Mrs. Ditsky's late husband, John, who passed away in 2006. Dr. Tetsumaro Hayashi, a longtime friend, said, "He was first and foremost a passionate and dedicated scholar, teacher, and mentor." Hayashi commented that the Research Fund was "established to honor Ditsky's long-established legacy of extending a helping hand to emerging Steinbeck scholars."


Recipients will spend a minimum of five days doing intensive research using the Steinbeck collections or other materials from the Ball State University Libraries. The results of this research must be submitted for publication in a professional, scholarly, Steinbeck-related journal, and/or presented at a Steinbeck conference, convention, or lecture at a university.


Applicants should submit two copies of a one- or two-page, double-spaced, Steinbeck-related research proposal, a curriculum vitae, and a completed application form (available soon at Send applications to John B. Straw, Archives and Special Collections Research Center, Bracken Library Room 210, Ball State University, Muncie, IN 47306. [End Page 239]

For More Information

Contact Mr. Straw at

Contributions to the Fund

Send to the Ball State University Foundation (include Fund No. 5112 on the check).

Louis Owens Essay Prize

The winner of the 2019 Louis Owens Prize is Caroline Kelly for her essay "Exiles Searching in Paradise: Generational Sin and Redemption in East of Eden." Ms. Kelly is an aspiring novelist and an English honors graduate of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. A devoted Steinbeck fan since the age of fifteen, she currently works as an assistant at an editorial management company and plans to start graduate school this fall. She earned a stipend of $250 for her essay.

About the Prize

In memory of the late Steinbeck scholar Louis Owens, the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies established this award to honor undergraduate or graduate student work on Steinbeck and related subjects. The award is given annually to the best undergraduate or graduate student essay on Steinbeck. Students may submit, or faculty may submit on their behalf.

The next deadline for submission is January 31, 2020. Send as an attachment to, or by regular mail to Louis Owens Essay Prize, Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies, San José State University, San Jose, CA 95192-0202.

If you wish to support the prize, please make donation checks payable to the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies and note on check that it is for the "Louis Owens Essay Prize." [End Page 240]

Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies Announces 2019–2020 Steinbeck Fellows

The Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies at San José State University has named six Steinbeck Fellows for the 2019–2020 academic year: Mushfig Babayev, Meron Hadero, Gabriela Garcia, Carrie R. Moore, Shabnam Nadiya, and Laura A. Zink.

The Steinbeck Fellowship program offers emerging writers of any age and background a $15,000 fellowship to finish a significant writing project. Named in honor of author John Steinbeck, the program is guided by his lifetime of work in literature, the media, and environmental activism. The Steinbeck Fellows program was endowed through the generosity of SJSU Professor Emerita Martha Heasley Cox.

The next deadline for applications is January 2, 2020. For eligibility and application instructions, visit

Steinbeck Fellows in Creative Writing 2019-2020

Mushfig Babayev is an Azerbaijani scholar and translator living in the United States. He holds a Ph.D. in philology / American literature from Azerbaijan University of Languages. His publications include translations of Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men and The Winter of Our Discontent and numerous scholarly articles on Steinbeck and other authors. He plans to use his Steinbeck Fellowship to produce translations of two more Steinbeck works: The Pearl (Mirvari) and Tortilla Flat (Tortilla məhəlləsi).

Gabriela Garcia is a fiction writer and poet. Her writing appears or...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 239-242
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.