In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Editor's Note

This issue of the AJTP marks the beginning of the fortieth year of the journal's history. Over these years, we have published numerous articles interpreting the thinkers and advancing the pragmatist, process, empirical, and naturalist lineages in American philosophy and theology. Many of our authors also have been members of the Institute for American Religious and Philosophical Thought (IARPT). Since I have been serving as editor of the AJTP, I have been pleased to see the membership of the Institute, and likewise the contributors to this journal, expanding in many ways. We now have more emerging and international scholars than we have had at any point I can recall. This issue of the AJTP reflects this trend. Mikael Leidenhag, a recent graduate of Uppsala University currently teaching at University of Edinburgh, presents a finely argued essay on the place of teleology in philosophical and religious naturalisms. Ulf Zackariasson, of Uppsala University, offers a fine paper developing a pragmatist philosophy of religious pluralism. We are also very pleased to publish in this volume two essays that began as presentations at the 2017 meeting of the Metaphysical Society of America. Both essays engage recent work on contingency by Nancy Frankenberry (current president of IARPT and recent president of the Metaphysical Society). The article by Lisa Landoe Hedrick, who is finishing her doctoral work at the University of Chicago Divinity School, was awarded the Metaphysical Society's Aristotle Prize, and takes up the question of contingency as it relates to theological issues in White-head's thought. Robert Cummings Neville, past president of IARPT and the Metaphysical Society, and newly emeritus at Boston University, follows the distinctions between, and the significance of, cosmological and ontological contingency across Western and Asian philosophical traditions. Enjoy!


Aristotle Prize—started in 1997, this prize is awarded to "the best paper submitted to the annual conference of the Metaphysical Society of America." Persons who have not yet earned a PhD or whose PhD was earned within the previous five years at the time of submission will be considered for the Aristotle Prize if the Program Committee is alerted to eligibility. The prize carries a cash award of $500, inclusion in the program, and a travel grant to help defray expenses. [End Page v]



Additional Information

Print ISSN
p. v
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.