In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • About the Contributors


Aku Wuwu 阿库乌雾 is a Yi-Nuosu poet who writes in both Nuosu and Chinese. His books Winter River (1994) and Tiger Traces (1998) are the first collections of poetry written and published in modern Yi script and English. He is a professor of Yi Studies at Southwest University for Ethnic Nationalities, in Chengdu.

Sandra Alcosser is the author of Except by Nature (1998) and A Fish to Feed All Hunger (1993), honored by the National Poetry Series and the Larry Levis and William Stafford poetry awards. She was the NEA's first Conservation Poet for the Wildlife Conservation Society and Poets House, and Montana's first poet laureate.

Amang 阿芒 was born and raised in Hualien, Taiwan. Her books of poetry in translation are On/Off: Selected Poems of Amang 1995–2002 (2003) and No Daddy (2008). She is a teacher in Taipei.

Baoyinhexige 宝音贺希格 is a poet and writer from Inner Mongolia who writes in Mongolian, Mandarin, and Japanese. His works include the Mongolian-language poetry collections Another Kind of Moonlight and Ninety-Nine Black Mountain Goats, and the Japanese-language prose work I Am a Mongol.

Trent Beauchamp-Sanchez is a social ecologist, antifascist, gardener, poet, and graduating senior at Whittier College.

Margo Berdeshevsky is the author of Before The Drought (2017), Between Soul & Stone (2011), But a Passage in Wilderness (2007), and Beautiful Soon Enough (2011), winner of the Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Award. Her other honors include the Robert H. Winner Award from the Poetry Society of America. She lives and writes in Paris.

Bruce Bond is the author of twenty-one books, including Rise and Fall of the Lesser Sun Gods (2018), Dear Reader (2018) Sacrum (2017), Blackout Starlight: New and Selected Poems 1997–2015 (2017), Gold Bee (2016), and Black Anthem (2016). He is a Regents Professor of English at University of North Texas.

Nickole Brown is the author of Sister (2018 revised edtion), Fanny Says (2015) and To Those Who Were Our First Gods, winner of the 2018 Rattle Chapbook Prize. She edits the Marie Alexander Poetry Series and teaches in the MFA Program at the Sewanee School of Letters. She lives with her wife, poet Jessica Jacobs, in North Carolina. [End Page 184]

Elena Karina Byrne is the author of Squander (2016), Masque (2008), and The Flammable Bird (2002). She is the former Regional Director of the Poetry Society of America, Poetry Consultant/Moderator for The Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, and Literary Programs Director for The Ruskin Art Club.

Chen Dongdong 陈东东 was born in Shanghai in 1961. He graduated from Shanghai Normal University and began writing poetry in 1981. His recent publications include Unbanned Title (2011) and The Guide Map (2013). He lives in Shenzhen.

Chen He 沉河 was born in Qianjiang, Hubei province, and is a poet, essayist, and literary editor. In 2001, he joined the Yangtze River Art & Literature Publishing House, where he has edited the 21st Century Poetry Series and the New Poetry Canon (2013).

Chen Xianfa 陈先发 was born in 1967 in Anhui and graduated from Fudan University in Shanghai. His books of poetry include The Problem of Raising Cranes (2015) and Crevice and Insight (2016). He has also published the novel Soul-Stealing Opera (2006).

Dou Fengxiao 窦凤晓 was born in 1974 in Juxian, Shandong province, and now lives in Rizhao. Her works include Testimony at the Edge of the Sky, In the Mountains, and By the Sea. She is a member of the China Association for Promoting Democracy.

Duo Duo 多多 is the pen name of Li Shizheng. He was born in Beijing in 1951 and started writing poetry in the early 1970s. His books in translation include The Boy Who Catches Wasps (2002) and Snow Plain (2010). He is the first Chinese recipient of the Neustadt International Prize for Literature.

Natalie Fenaroli graduated from Whittier College in business and administration. A champion racecar driver, she currently works as a technical official for IndyCar, the sanctioning body for the premier-level open-wheel auto racing series in America.

Forrest Gander is the author of Be With (2018); Eiko & Koma (2013); Core Samples from the World (2011), a finalist for the 2012 Pulitzer Prize; Eye; and Against...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 184-195
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.