In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Notes on Contributors

*AZALEA generally adheres to the McCune-Reischauer system in transcribing Korean into English. However, many Korean contributors have not followed this convention, and we respect their way of writing their names in English.

An Heeyeon was born in Sŏngnam, Kyŏng'gi, South Korea. She made her literary debut with the Ch'angbi Prize for New Figures in Literature in 2012. Her first poetry book, When Your Sadness Comes In, was published in 2016.

Bae Suah is a highly acclaimed contemporary Korean author and translator of German literature, described as "Korean literature's most unfamiliar being." She is the author of Recitation, A Greater Music, North Station, and Nowhere to Be Found, among numerous other novels and short story collections. She has also introduced authors such as W.G. Sebald, Franz Kafka, and Jenny Erpenbeck to Korean audiences. She received the Hanguk Ilbo Literary Prize, as well as the Tongseo Literary Prize.

Brother Anthony of Taizé (An Sonjae) has published more than thirty volumes of English translations of Korean literature, mostly poetry. Born in Cornwall in 1942, he has lived in Korea since 1980. He has received various awards for translation including the Republic of Korean Literary Award. He is an emeritus professor at Sogang University in Seoul and president of the Royal Asiatic Society Korea Branch.

Lizzie Buehler is a freelance Korean translator and editor at Asymptote. Her translations of work by Yun Ko Eun and other writers appear or are forthcoming in Asymptote, The Massachusetts Review, Korean Literature Now, and Litro. [End Page 314]

Jamie Chang received her A.M. in Regional Studies-East Asia from Harvard University. She teaches at the Graduate School of Translation and Interpretation at Ewha Womans University and the Translation Academy at the Literature Translation Institute of Korea. Her recent translations include The Summer by Choi Eunyoung and April Snow by Son Won-pyeong.

Cheon Myeong-gwan is a novelist and screenwriter. He debuted as a writer in 2003 with the short story "Frank and I," which received the Munhakdongne New Writer Award, and received the 10th Munhakdongne Novel Award in the following year with Whale. He also received the Ku Sang Literary Award in 2015 for his short story "Homecoming." He has also written Modern Family, My Uncle Bruce Lee, and This Is a Man's World.

Eun-Gwi Chung is a professor in the Department of English Literature and Culture at Hankuk University of Foreign Studies in Seoul. Her publications include articles, translations, poems, and reviews in various journals including World Literature Today, Cordite, and Azalea, among others. Her recent poetry publications are Fifteen Seconds without Sorrow and Ah, Mouthless Things.

Jae Won Chung was born in Seoul, grew up in Philadelphia, received his graduate training in New York, and currently resides in Boulder, where he teaches Korean literature, film, and popular culture. His translations have appeared in Azalea, Washington Square Review, and Asia Literary Review. His fiction has appeared in Apogee Journal.

Ha Jaeyoun was born in Seoul, South Korea. She studied Korean literature at Korea University. Currently she is a research professor at Wonkwang University. She won the Literary Award for New Figures of Literature and Society in 2002. Her second poetry book, Like All the Beaches in the World, was published in 2012. [End Page 315]

Han Kang won the Man Booker International Prize for Fiction in 2016 for The Vegetarian. She was born in Kwangju, South Korea, and moved to Seoul at the age of ten. She studied Korean literature at Yonsei University. Her publications include short story collections Fruits of My Woman (2000) and Fire Salamander (2012) and novels Black Deer (1998), Your Cold Hands (2002), The Vegetarian (2007), Breath Fighting (2010), Greek Lessons (2011), Human Acts (2014), and The White Book (2016). A poem collection, I Put the Evening in the Drawer (2013), was published as well. She has been awarded numerous literary prizes, including the Manhae Literary Prize for Human Acts (2014) and the Hwang Sun-won Literary Award (2015) for the novella While One Snowflake Melts. Atti umani (Human acts) won the 2017 Malaparte Prize in Italy.

Janet Hong is an award-winning translator and writer based in Vancouver...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 314-319
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.