In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Reviewed by:
  • Ivy by Katherine Coville
  • April Spisak
Coville, Katherine Ivy; illus. by Celia Kaspar. Knopf, 2017 [144p]
Library ed. ISBN 978-0-553-53976-9 $19.99
Trade ed. ISBN 978-0-553-53975-2 $16.99
E-book ed. ISBN 978-0-553-53977-6 $10.99
Reviewed from galleys R Gr. 2-4

Ivy and her grandma live in Broomsweep, a cozy little village filled with people who dislike the wild plants, unkempt appearance, and general free-spirited joyfulness that surround Ivy’s grandmother’s cottage. A contest wherein the new queen will select the best town spurs complaints against Ivy and her grandma, who make themselves more unpopular by taking in the magical creatures that have been banished from other towns hoping to win the prize. All’s well that ends well, of course, and the new queen, a kiddo who exudes wide-eyed wonder, finds that Broomsweep is the best town around because of Ivy and her grandmother and not in spite of them. There’s very little dramatic tension, as it’s obvious that a happy ending is guaranteed, but that’s okay—Ivy and her kind, thoughtful granny certainly deserve all the good that awaits them, and the fact that they change some hearts in the meantime is a bonus. Fans of dragons, griffins, or pixies will appreciate the fact that these characters not only play key roles but also have amusing, well-developed personalities within this trim illustrated novel. Fans of Pearce and Stiefvater’s similarly effervescent animal fantasy Pip Bartlett’s Guide to Magical Creatures (BCCB 5/15) will likely feel right at home here. Final illustrations not seen.

...

pdf

Additional Information

ISSN
1558-6766
Print ISSN
0008-9036
Pages
p. 263
Launched on MUSE
2017-01-12
Open Access
No
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.