In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Announcements

Steinbeck Research Fund Honors John Ditsky

Thanks to a generous donation from Mrs. C. Suzette Ditsky, emerging Steinbeck scholars will be able to utilize the outstanding resources in the Ball State University Libraries. The Steinbeck Research Fund has been established in honor of Mrs. Ditsky’s late husband, John, who passed away on 15 May 2006. Dr. Tetsumaro Hayashi, a longtime friend, said, “He was first and foremost a passionate and dedicated scholar, teacher, and mentor.” Hayashi commented that the Research Fund was established to honor Ditsky’s long-established legacy of extending a helping hand to emerging Steinbeck scholars.

Click for larger view
View full resolution
Fig. 1.

John Ditsky

guidelines: Recipients will spend a minimum of five days doing intensive research using the Steinbeck collections or other materials from the Ball State University Libraries. The results of this research must be submitted for publication in a professional, scholarly, Steinbeck-related journal, and/or presented at a Steinbeck conference, convention, or lecture at a university.

applications: Applicants should submit two copies of a one- or two-page, double-spaced, Steinbeck-related research proposal, a curriculum vitae, and a [End Page 230] completed application form (available soon at Send applications to John B. Straw, Archives and Special Collections Research Center, Bracken Library Room 210, Ball State University, Muncie, IN 47306.

for more information: Contact Mr. Straw at

contributions to the fund: Send to Ball State University Foundation (include Fund No. 5112 on the check). [End Page 231]

Louis Owens Essay Prize

In memory of the late Steinbeck scholar Louis Owens, the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies established this award to honor undergraduate or graduate student work on Steinbeck and related subjects. The award is given annually to the best undergraduate or graduate student essay on Steinbeck. Students may submit, or faculty may submit on their behalf.

Click for larger view
View full resolution
Fig. 2.

Professor Louis Owens

Deadline: Postmark of January 31, 2017.

Length: 12–40 pages

Format: MLA

Award: $250.00 and possible publication in Steinbeck Review

Send as attachment to, or by regular mail to:
Louis Owens Essay Prize
Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies
San Jose State University
San Jose, CA 95192-0202

If you wish to support the prize, please make donation checks payable to the Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies and note on check that it is for the “Louis Owens Essay Prize.” [End Page 232]

Steinbeck Fellows in Creative Writing 2016–2017
Martha Heasley Cox Center for Steinbeck Studies
San José State University

Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo is a Poets & Writers California Writers Exchange poetry winner and a Barbara Deming Fund grantee. Her work is published in crazyhorse, CALYX, the James Franco Review, and Acentos Review, and she is a cofounder of Women Who Submit. Her debut poetry collection, Built with Safe Spaces, is forthcoming from Sundress Publications. She plans to spend her fellowship year finishing Dear Lupe, an epistolary novel that imagines the story of “Curley’s Wife,” the nameless character from John Steinbeck’s novel Of Mice and Men.

Click for larger view
View full resolution
Fig. 3.

Xochitl-Julisa Bermejo

Gary Singh is a San Jose–based freelance journalist who has published nearly one thousand articles in trade and consumer publications. For 530 straight weeks, his newspaper columns have appeared in Metro, the alternative weekly paper of San Jose and Silicon Valley. His poems have been published in the Pedestal Magazine, Dirty Chai, Maudlin House, and elsewhere. He is the author of The San Jose Earthquakes: A Seismic Soccer Legacy (2015, The History Press). He plans to spend his fellowship year working on a memoir and a biography of A. D. M. Cooper (1856–1924), a controversial American painter who made the Old West his subject matter.

Click for larger view
View full resolution
Fig. 4.

Gary Singh

The Steinbeck Fellows Program was endowed through the generosity of Martha Heasley Cox. It offers new writers of any age and background a $10,000 fellowship to finish a significant writing project. The program is guided by Steinbeck’s lifetime of work in literature, the...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 230-233
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.