In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Association AffairsPacific Science Association


Planning Activities for the 23rd Pacific Science Congress

Planning for the 23rd Pacific Science Congress (PSC-23), which will be held from 13–17 June 2016 in Taipei, is proceeding smoothly. PSA Executive Secretary Burke Burnett traveled to Taiwan in December 2014 to meet with Academia Sinica, the host of the PSC-23.

The meetings went exceedingly well, and the agenda covered a wide variety of critical topics, including the conference organizational structure, themes and sub-themes, keynote speakers, and meeting logistics.

The theme of the PSC-23 will be “Science Towards Sustainability in Asia and the Pacific.” The sub-themes are still under review, but are tentatively listed below. Note that one co-convener from Taiwan is listed, however, it is understood (and long-standing PSA policy) that each sub-theme will also have an international co-convener. Candidates will be identified and contacted.

Although there is limited accommodation space in and immediately adjacent to the Academia Sinica campus where the PSC-23 will be held, PSA is confident that the logistics are quite manageable using a smart combination of hotels and dorm rooms alongside dedicated shuttle buses, taxis (which are inexpensive), and trains.

A Congress website will soon be developed and is expected in Q2 of 2015.

The 23rd Pacific Science Congress: “Science Towards Sustainability in Asia and The Pacific”

PSC-23 Sub-Themes:

  1. 1. Green Society

    Co-Convener: Dr. Chao-Han, Chairman and Distinguished Chair, Center for Sustainability Science, Academia Sinica; Academician, Academia Sinica

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

  2. 2. Sustainable Agriculture

    Co-Convener: Dr. Ming-Che Shih, Director and Distinguished Research Fellow, Agricultural Biotechnology Research Center, Academia Sinica

    Co-Convener (international): TBD [End Page 129]

  3. 3. Climate Change

    Co-Convener: Dr. Shaw-Chun Liu, Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Research Center for Environmental Changes, Academia Sinica; Academician, Academia Sinica

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

  4. 4. Tackling Health Threats

    Co-Convener: Dr. Fu-Tong Liu, Director and Distinguished Research Fellow, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Academia Sinica; Academician, Academia Sinica

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

  5. 5. Integrated Disaster Management

    Co-Convener: Dr. Hongey Chen, Director, National Science and Technology Center for Disaster Reduction (NCDR)

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

  6. 6. Natural Resource Management

    Co-Convener: Dr. Ching-Fong Chang, President, National Taiwan Ocean University

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

  7. 7. Societal Perspectives

    Co-Convener: Dr. Shu-Min Huang, Distinguished Research Fellow, Institute of Ethnology, Academia Sinica; Academician, Academia Sinica

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

  8. 8. Emerging Technologies for Sustainability

    Co-Convener: Dr. Der-Tsai Lee, President, National Chung Hsing University; Academician, Academia Sinica

    Co-Convener (international): TBD

The organizational structure for the Congress will be as follows:

Core Committee Members

  • Chairman

  • Dr. Chi-Huey Wong, President of Academia Sinica

  • Vice-Chairman

  • Dr. Andrew H.-J. Wang, Academician, Academia Sinica

  • Dr. Fan-Sen Wang, VP of Academia Sinica

  • Dr. Yu Wang, VP of Academia Sinica

  • Dr. Chien-Jen Chen, VP of Academia Sinica/Chair of PSA ROC Committee

  • Dr. Pan-Chyr Yang, Chancellor of National Taiwan University

  • Secretary-General

  • Dr. Jen-Leih Wu, Secretary-General of Administration Building, Academia Sinica

  • Deputy Secretary-General

  • Dr. Te-Chang Lee, Executive Secretary of Central Academic Advisory Committee/Director, Academic Affairs Office, Academia Sinica

  • Dr. Sue Lin-Chao, Director, International Affairs Office, Academia Sinica

  • Vice-President of Pacific Science Association

  • Dr. Chang-Hung Chou, Academician, Academia Sinica

  • Executive Secretary of the Taiwan Committee for the Pacific Science Association

  • Dr. Shih-Chun (Candice) Lung, Research Fellow, Academia Sinica [End Page 130]

PSA Committee on Scientific Activities Members

  • Dr. Phil Cowan, Landcare Research, New Zealand

  • Dr. Sang-Bok Han, National Academy of Science, Korea

  • Dr. Kevin Johnson, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa, USA

  • Dr. Yonglong Lu, Chinese Academy of Science, China-Beijing

  • Dr. David Schindel, Smithsonian Institution, USA

  • Ex-Officio

  • Dr. Chang-Hung Chou, Academia Sinica, China-Taipei

  • Dr. Nancy Lewis, East-West Center, USA Burke Burnett, Pacific Science Association Secretariat

Compiled and edited by the PSA Council Resolutions Committee: Burke Burnett (PSA Executive Secretary), Chang-Hung Chou (PSA Vice President), Phil Cowan (PSA Council Delegate, New Zealand), Sang-Bok Han (PSA Council Delegate, Korea), and Kevin Johnson (PSA Council Delegate, USA)

Click for larger view
View full resolution

[End Page 131]


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 129-131
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.