In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Decision at Prix Ars Electronica '90 ChristineSchiipf Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica, sponsored by Siemens AG Corporation , has been organized by the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation's Upper Austrian Regional Studios. Priz Ars Electronica, with 1.25 million Austrian schillings (AS) (approximately U.S. $104,500), the world's highest money award in computer arts, welcomed a record number of entries for its 1990 edition. The juries were presented with 1,233 entries by 682 artists from 31 countries. The results of the 1990 Prix Ars Electronica confirmed the achievements of many pioneers in computer arts. The prize also reflected the rapid advances made in computer art in the past few years. In each of the four categories, one Prix Ars Electronica Golden Nica Award, two Distinction Awards and a maximum of 12 Honorary Mentions may be presented to winners. The Golden Nica Award for Computer Animation is presented with a prize of AS 300,000 (U.S. $25,000); each Distinction for Computer Animation Award is presented with a prize ofAS 100,000 (U.S. $8,630). In other categories , the Golden Nicas are accompanied by AS 150,000 (U.S. $12,540) each, and the Distinction Awards by AS 50,000 or (U.S. $4,180). The Golden Nica Award for Computer Animation went to Italian artists Mario Sasso, a painter and video/media artist, and Nicola Sani, a computer musician for Footprint. Winners of the two Distinction in Computer Animation Awards were American Robert Lurye with Dirty Power and French artist Philippe Andrevon with Star Life. In the Computer Graphics category the Golden Nica was awarded to Manfred Mohr, a German computer graphics artist living in New York, for P-411-A. The two Distinction for Computer Graphics Awards were presented to Americans Bill Davison for Christine Schopf, Arts and Science Department, Austrian Broadcasting Corporation ORF, Franckstrasse 2a, 4020 Linz, Austria. Received 23July 1990. Costa Rica and Charles Csuri for Gossip . This was Csuri's second Distinction Award. Both artists have played an important part in the 3D-yearhistory of computer graphics. In 1990, the music jury awarded only one Distinction to a pioneer of new music. The recipient was German composer Karlheinz Stockhausen . The number of entries in Interactive Arts-a category introduced for the first time in I990-was unexpectedly high. The Golden Nica was awarded to American Myron Krueger for his interactive system Videoplace. Krueger presented the first version of Videoplacein 1970 and has been developing it on an ongoing basis ever since. Thus the award was also a recognition of his overall achievement in technological innovation in interactive arts. The Distinction in Interactive Arts Awards were presented to the Netherlands-based Australian artistJeffrey Shaw for his installation The Legible City and to Canadian Norman White for The Helpless Robot. In addition to the money awards, the three juries of Prix Ars Electronica '90 awarded 39 Honorary Mentions : Computer Animation RebeccaAilen (U.S.A.): Steady State Flavia Alman (Italy): Photosyntesi Paul Coudsi (France): Reveil Christiane Geoffroy (France): GeoGenetic Steve Goldberg (U.S.A.): Locomotion Jeff Kleiser/Dian Walczak (U.S.A.): Don't Touch Me William Latham (U.K.): A Sequence from the Evolution ofForm John Lasseter (U.S.A.): Knickknack Denis Muren (U.S.A.): The Abyss Eihachiro Nakamae (Japan): A PassingShower Alan Norton (U.S.A.): Tipsy Turvy Gerhard Pakesch (Austria): Sonata per Guitarra Electrica Karl Sims (U.S.A.): Particle Dreams Computer Graphics Yoshiyuki Abe (Japan/Austria): Communication -Dawn Char Davies (Canada): Leaf Sandra Filippucci (U.S.A.): Lunar Trees Andreas Henrich (Germany): Raum 1 A. Scott Howe (U.S.A.): Dynamic Intelligent Building: Atrium Don P. Miller (U.S.A.): Sentinel #2 Joseph Nechvatal (U.S.A.): Compassion Rules Mike North (U.K.): Broken CirclesNumber 7 (H) 1st Version Daniel Pirofsky (U.S.A.): Eye ofthe Storm Stanislaw Sasak (Poland): Time Achim StoBer (Germany): Die Ausgangsturfuhrt hinein Arjen van der Meulen (The Netherlands ): Moment-Aufnahme Computer Music Zorah Mari Bauer (Austria): Volksliederfur gemischte Stimmen and Sampler Jonathan Harvey (U.K.): Ritual Melodiesfor Qy,adrophonic Tape Ake Parmerud (Sweden): Stringquartett Interactive Arts Kyoko Abe (Japan/Austria): Fuji fur Tonband, Sopran, Tam. und Bild Stuart Bender/Angelo Funicelli (U.S.A.): Seven...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
p. 619
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.