In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • The Literary Pattern in Australia
  • A. D. Hope


1. Such are William Hay’s The Escape of the Notorious Sir William Heans, 1919 (the convict system); Miles Franklin’s Old Blastus of Bandicoot, 1931, and All that Swagger, 1936 (pioneering in New South Wales); G. B. Lancaster’s Pageant, 1933 (pioneering in Tasmania); Henry Handel Richardson’s The Fortunes of Richard Mahony, 1917 (Victoria in the period of the gold rushes); Katherine Susannah Prichard’s Working Bullocks, 1926 (timber-getting in Western Australia) and The Roaring Nineties, 1946 (the gold rushes in Western Australia); Vance Palmer’s The Passage, 1930 (life in a fishing village on the Queensland coast in the twenties) and Golconda, 1948 (the growth of a mining community in Queensland); Martin Boyd’s The Montforts, 1928 (a family saga and chronicle of Australian life from the 1840’s to the end of the First World War); M. Barnard Eldershaw’s A House is Built, 1929 (early days in Sydney) and Green Memory, 1931 (Sydney in the mid-nineteenth century); Eleanor Dark’s The Timeless Land, 1941 (the first settlement in Sydney); Brian Penton’s Landtakers, 1934 and Inheritors, 1936 (pioneering in Queensland); Xavier Herbert’s Capricornia, 1938 (pioneering in the Northern Territory; Ernestine Hill’s My Love Must Wait, 1941 (the life of Matthew Flinders, the explorer).

2. Since this article was written, a new literary magazine Quadrant, supported by the Australian Committee for Cultural Freedom, has been launched.



Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 122-132
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.