In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Music Received
  • David Knapp

A key to abbreviated imprints is found at the end of this column. For information about the content and arrangement of this list, consult the introduction to the column in the September issue (p. 194 of this volume).

Scholarly & Historical Editions

Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel. Einführungsmusiken III: Einführungsmusik Winkler, H 821f; Einführungsmusik Friderici, H 821g. Edited by Uwe Wolf. (Works (2005), V/3.3.) PHI, 2013. ISBN 978-1-933280-81-3. xxxi p.; facsims.; score, 210 p. Cloth. $30.
Brunetti, Gaetano. Cuartetos de cuerda, L184–L199. Edición crítica Miguel Ángel Marín, Jorge Fonseca. (Música hispana. Serie B, Música instrumental, 51.) ICCMU, 2012. ISMN 979-0-901392-5-7. xl p.; score, 387 p. €44.
Brossard, Sébastien de. Les airs. Édition de Kenneth Owen Smith. (Patrimoine musical français.) (Monumentales, III/8.) CMBV, 2012. CMBV 068. ISMN 979-0-707034-68-2. cxxxix p.; facsims.; score, 256 p. €130.
Brunetti, Gaetano. Tríos para dos violins y violonchelo, L117–L126. Series VI y VIII. Edición crítica Lluís Bertran Xirau. (Música hispana. Serie B, Música instrumental, 48.) ICCMU, 2012. ISMN 979-0-901392-7-1. xxx p.; score, 283 p. €39.
Eberl, Anton. Two Quintets: Grand Quintetto for Clarinet or Violin, Violas, Violoncello, and Piano, Op. 41 [and] Quintuor Brillant, for Oboe, Violin, Viola, Violoncello, and Piano, Op. 48. Edited by Martin Harlow. (Recent Researches in the Music of the Classical Era, 91.) A-R, 2013. ISBN 978-0-89579-770-4. xiv p.; score, 170 p. and parts. $148 (score); $22 (parts, Grand Quintetto); $18 (parts, Quintuor Brillant).
Forqueray, Antoine et al. The Works. Antoine Forqueray, Jean-Baptiste Forqueray, Michel Forqueray, Nicolas-Gilles Forqueray. Part One [and Part Two]. Edited by Mary Cyr. Broude, 2012. ISBN 0-8450-7250-1. Score, 2 v. Cloth. $300.
Haydn, Joseph. Sinfonien, um 1761–1765. Herausgegeben von Ullrich Scheideler. (Werke, I,2.) Henle, 2012. HN 5012. ISMN 979-0-2018-5012-2. 51485012 (Leonard). xiv p.; score, 225 p. Cloth. $327.
Jacquet de La Guerre, Elisabeth. Dramatic Works, Part 1: Cephale et Procris, Tragédie. Edited by Albert Cohen. (Works, 5.) Broude, 2013. ISBN 0-8540-8005-9. lxxxix p.; score, 293 p. Cloth. $225.
Jacquet de La Guerre, Elisabeth. Dramatic Works, Part 2: Works of Uncertain Attribution. Edited by Mary Cyr. (Works, 6.) Broude, 2013. ISBN 0-8540-8006-7. xv p.; score, 170 p. Cloth. $175.
Leclair, Jean-Marie. Concertos pour violon et orchestre, op. VII. Édition de Louis Castelain. (Collection orchestre.) (Les essentiels.) CMBV, 2012. CAH.244. ISMN 979-0-56016-244-7. Score, 242 p. €50.
Ruggieri, Giovanni Maria. Trio Sonatas Op. 4. Edited by Jasmin Melissa Cameron. (Recent Researches in the Music of the Baroque Era, 185.) A-R, 2013. ISBN 978-0-89579-771. xvi p.; facsims.; score, 134 p. Performance parts available from the publisher. $120.
Sibelius, Jean. Lemminkäinen: Four Symphonic Poems (Op. 22). Edited by Tuija Wicklund. (Werke I/12a.) Breitkopf, 2013. SON 618. ISMN 979-0-004-80320-2. xxii p.; score, 313 p. Cloth. €199.50.

Facsimile Editions

Bach, Carl Philipp Emanuel. Magnificat. Facsimile Edition of the Autograph Score [End Page 542] with an Introduction by Christine Blanken (Works (2005), V/Supplement.) PHI, 2013. ISBN 978-1-933325-31-3. xv p.; score, 112 p. $20.

Orchestral Music

Brahms, Johannes. Serenade Nr. 1 D-dur (D major) (Ré majeur) Opus 11. Herausgegeben von Michael Musgrave. Urtext. (Studien-Edition.) Henle, 2013. HN 9857. ISMN 979-0-2018-9857-5. 51489857 (Leonard). xv p.; miniature score, 256 p. $23.95.
Brahms, Johannes. Serenade Nr. 2 A-dur (A major) (La majeur) Opus 16. Herausgegeben von Michael Musgrave. Urtext. (Studien-Edition.) Henle, 2013. HN 9858. ISMN 979-0-2018-9858-2. 51489858 (Leonard). xv p.; miniature score, 90 p. $14.95.
Daugherty, Michael. Flamingo, for Chamber Orchestra (1991). Full Score. Hendon, 2012. ISBN 978-1-4803-3978-1. ISMN 979-0-051-09757-9. HL48022819. [iii] p.; score, 77 p. $29.99.
Leconte, Thomas, ed. Concert donné à Louis XIII. (Collection orchestre.) CMBV, 2013. CAH.246. ISMN 979-0-56016-246-1. Score, 37 p. 15 pieces. €18.60...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 542-549
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.