In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Notes If you missed the screening of the award-winning film, EDWARD ABBEY: A Voicein the Wildernessat this year’sWestern Literature Association meeting, or if you would like to share the film with your students, here isyour opportunity. To order your VHS copy of the film, please send a check for $28.95 ($24.95 for the film and $4.00 for shipping) to: Canyon Productions P. O. Box 34941 Bethesda, MD 20817. For more information, call Eric Temple at (301) 229-1836. * * * Nominations are invited for the 1994 Don D. Walker Award. The Award is presented at the WLA annual meeting to the author of the previous year’s best article on western U. S. or Canadian literature. Any original essay published in 1994 is eligible. The Nominating Committee particularly welcomes nomina­ tions from sources they might overlook, such as book-length collections of essays, and from journals which do not specialize in western regional concerns. Please send nominations byApril 15, 1995 (with photocopies ofarticles) to: Charles Crow English—Bowling Green State University Bowling Green, OH 43403. * * * Garland Publishing ofNew York is preparing Literature and Environment: An Encyclopedia, to be published in 1997 under the editorship ofPatrick D. Murphy. The encyclopedia will be international and interdisciplinary in scope. It will include entries on specific authors and works, aswell as on relevant topics from 334 Western American Literature theory, philosophy, science, and other areas. It will include bibliographic list­ ings and an index. Send inquiries, suggestions for topics, and names of potential con­ tributors to: Patrick D. Murphy English—Indiana University of Pennsylvania Indiana, PA 15705-1094. You may also contact the editor by phone (412-357-2263), fax (412-3573056 ), or e-mail ( * * * The Frank Waters Foundation of Taos and the Martin Foundation for the Creative Arts of San Francisco and Taos announce the second annual Frank Waters Southwest Writing Award. All writers of fiction who live in Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, and Utah are encouraged to submit manuscripts on the theme of “Our Relationship to Water” by May 31, 1995. Judges for this award include John Nichols, Rudolfo Anaya, and Frank Waters. For submission information, please contact: Rose Rutherford Waters Writing Award P. O. Box 522 El Prado, NM 87529. ...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 333-334
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.