In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Contributors


R. Steve Benson studied poetry at the University of Northern Iowa with the late poet James Hearst, who was a friend of Paul Engle, founder of the Iowa Writer’s Workshop. Carl Sandburg and Robert Frost also stayed at Hearst’s home in Cedar Falls. Like the Tennyson brothers back in 1827, Steve and his brother Barry have published a collection of their poems—Schooled Lives: Poems by Two Brothers (1st World Publishing, Blue Light Press). Steve has had more than twenty poems published in the Christian Science Monitor. Other poems have appeared in MARGIE, Poet Lore, Poem, the Hollins Critic, Spoon River Poetry Review, Snowy Egret, the North American Review, and many others. Steve is a retired art teacher, married with three children.

Jason Bredle lives in Chicago. He is a recipient of a grant from the Illinois Arts Council, and his fourth book, Carnival, was selected as an Editor’s Choice for the Akron Series in Poetry and published by the University of Akron Press.

Mike Coakley grew up in central New Jersey. He is currently an MFA candidate at the University of Arizona, Tucson. This publication is his first.

Jaydn DeWald, a graduate of Pacific University’s MFA program, lives with his wife in San Francisco, where he writes, plays bass for the DeWald/Taylor Quintet, and serves as senior poetry editor for Silk Road. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in Beloit Poetry Journal, Columbia Poetry Review, Drunken Boat, the National Poetry Review, West Branch, Witness, and others.

Megan Edgecombe received her BA degree from Southern Illinois University. She currently lives in Virginia, where she is in the process of applying to graduate school.

Gloria Frym’s most recent books are Mind over Matter (BlazeVOX, 2011) and Any Time Now (Little Red Leaves, 2010). She is also the author of two critically acclaimed collections of short stories—Distance No Object (City Lights Books) and How I Learned (Coffee [End Page 160] House Press)—as well as many volumes of poetry. A previous collection, Homeless at Home, won an American Book Award. She teaches writing and literature at California College of the Arts in the Bay Area.

Beth Gilstrap earned her MFA in fiction from Chatham University. She has taught in the First Year Writing Program at the University of North Carolina, Charlotte, and recently completed work on her first novel. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Blue Fifth Review, Noctua Review, and Stone Highway Review.

Bradley Harrison is a Michener Fellow at the University of Texas, Austin. His work can be found in Gulf Coast, CutBank, the Los Angeles Review, Hunger Mountain, New Orleans Review, Best New Poets 2012, and elsewhere. His chapbook Diorama of a People, Burning is available from Ricochet Editions (2012).

Chris Haven teaches writing at Grand Valley State University in Michigan, where he edits Wake: Great Lakes Thought and Culture. “Jonestown” is part of a series of poems on the 1970s. Other poems in this series have appeared or are forthcoming in Fugue, Los Angeles Review, Northville Review, Linebreak, and Sugar House Review.

Thomas Hawks teaches English at Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio. His poems have appeared previously in the Antioch Review, the Literary Review, Poet Lore, the Seneca Review, and Sou’wester and are forthcoming in the South Dakota Review.

Whittney Jones is currently a graduate student at Murray State University. She lives in Harrisburg, Illinois, with her husband and works for the literacy program at her town’s district library. She has work forthcoming in the Zone 3 literary magazine of Austin Peay State University.

Dustin Junkert started writing in order to impress girls. Most girls are not all that impressed by writing, he has found. But here’s hoping. Dustin lives in Portland, Oregon. He recently had an essay published in the New York Times and poems in the Journal, South Carolina Review, Weber, Georgetown Review, GW Review, and New Delta Review.

Matthew Lippman is the author of two poetry collections, Monkey Bars (Typecast Publishing) and The New Year of Yellow (Sarabande Books), winner of the Kathryn A. Morton Poetry Prize. He is the [End Page 161] recipient of the 2010 Jerome J. Shestack...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 160-164
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.