In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • The Disregardable "Second World":Essays on the Inconstancy of the West: Dialogical Introduction
  • Péter Nádas (bio), Jeffrey M. Perl (bio), Mikhail Epstein (bio), Galin Tihanov (bio), Clare Cavanagh (bio), László F. Földényi (bio), Erica Johnson Debeljak (bio), and Jeffrey C. Isaac (bio)
    Translated by Tim Wilkinson (bio)
Péter Nádas

Péter Nádas is best known as the author of two novels, The End of a Family Novel, translated from Hungarian into twelve languages, and A Book of Memories, which has appeared in seven languages. His other novels in English translation are A Lovely Tale of Photography and Love; his collections of short fiction include The Bible, Looking for the Key, and Description. His play Burial appeared in the winter 2002 issue of Common Knowledge with an introduction by Susan Sontag. He is currently writing a multivolume novel entitled Parallel Stories.

Jeffrey M. Perl

Jeffrey M. Perl, author of Skepticism and Modern Enmity, The Tradition of Return: The Implicit History of Modern Literature, and monographs on Friedrich Schlegel, Mallarmé, and T. S. Eliot, taught for many years at Columbia University and at the University of Texas and is now professor of English literature at Bar-Ilan University. He is the founder and editor of Common Knowledge.

Mikhail Epstein

Mikhail Epstein's numerous books, including After the Future, Transcultural Experiments, and Cries in the New Wilderness: From the Files of the Moscow Institute of Atheism, have been translated into fourteen languages. He is Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Cultural Theory and Russian Literature at Emory University and recipient of the Andrei Belyi Prize of St. Petersburg. He also received the International Essay Prize of Weimar for "Chronocide," which appeared in the Spring 2003 issue of Common Knowledge.

Galin Tihanov

Galin Tihanov is reader in comparative literature and intellectual history at Lancaster University and coeditor of New Comparison (the journal of the British Comparative Literature Association). His books include The Master and the Slave: Lukács, Bakhtin, and the Ideas of Their Time and, as coeditor, Materializing Bakhtin: The Bakhtin Circle and Social Theory. He guest-edited Russian Avant-Garde Photography and Visual Culture, a special issue (in 2000) of History of Photography.

Clare Cavanagh

Clare Cavanagh is associate professor of Slavic languages and literature at Northwestern University. Author of Osip Mandelstam and the Modernist Creation of Tradition, she has received, among other awards, the William Riley Parker Prize of the Modern Language Association.

László F. Földényi

László F. Földényi, well known in Hungary and Germany as a philosopher and art critic, is the author of books on Lukács, Goya, and Caspar David Friedrich. He received the Mikes Literature Prize in Amsterdam for his book Melancholia.

Erica Johnson Debeljak

Erica Johnson Debeljak is an American writer living in Slovenia. She contributes regularly to newspapers and intellectual journals in Slovenia and is the author of Tujka v hiši domačinov [Foreigner in the house of natives]. She recently translated Barren Harvest: Selected Poems by Dane Zajc.

Jeffrey C. Isaac

Jeffrey C. Isaac, director of the Indiana University Center for the Study of Democracy, is James H. Rudy Professor of Political Science at Bloomington. His books include The Poverty of Progressivism; Power and Marxist Theory; Arendt, Camus, and Modern Rebellion; and Democracy in Dark Times. He is a regular contributor to Dissent.

Tim Wilkinson

Tim Wilkinson is the translator of Éva Balázs's book Hungary and the Habsburgs, 1765-1800: An Experiment in Enlightened Absolutism and of Ignác Romsics's study Hungary in the Twentieth Century.