In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Inter-American Notes

Awards, Fellowships & Prizes

As announced at its luncheon on January 6, 2012, in Chicago, the Conference on Latin American History recognized the superb achievements of the following scholars:

Conference on Latin American History Prize (for most distinguished article published in a journal other than Hispanic American Historical Review or The Americas)

Celso Castilho and Camillia Cowling, “Funding Freedom, Popularizing Politics: Abolitionism and Local Emancipation Funds in 1880s Brazil,” Luso-Brazilian Review 47:1 (2010), pp. 89–120.

Howard F. Cline Memorial Prize (awarded biennially to the book or article in English, German, or a Romance language judged to make the most significant contribution to the history of Indians in Latin America)

Gabriela Ramos, Death and Conversion in the Andes: Lima and Cuzco, 1532–1670 (Notre Dame: University of Notre Dame Press, 2010).

Warren Dean Memorial Prize (awarded biennially to recognize work on the history of Brazil)

Thomas D. Rogers, The Deepest Wounds: A Labor and Environmental History of Sugar in Northeast Brazil (Chapel Hill: The University of North Carolina Press, 2010).

Honorable Mention: Mark Harris, Rebellion on the Amazon: The Cabanagem, Race, and Popular Culture in the North of Brazil, 1798–1840 (Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press, 2010).

Bolton-Johnson Prize (for best book in English on any significant aspect of Latin American history)

Richard Graham, Feeding the City: From Street Market to Liberal Reform in Salvador, Brazil, 1780–1860 (Austin: University of Texas Press, 2010). [End Page 117]

Honorable Mention: Jane Landers, Atlantic Creoles in the Age of Revolutions (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2010).

Elinor Melville Prize for Latin American Environmental History (conferred annually for the best book in English, French, Spanish, or Portuguese on Latin American environmental history)

Mark Carey, In the Shadow of Melting Glaciers: Climate Change and Andean Society (New York: Oxford University Press, 2010).

Tibesar Prize (for most distinguished article in The Americas)

George Reid Andrews, “Afro-World: African Diaspora Thought and Practice in Montevideo, 1830–2000,” The Americas 67:1 (July 2010), pp. 83–107.

Honorable Mention: Stephen E. Lewis, “Modernizing Message, Mystical Messenger: The Teatro Petul in the Chiapas Highlands, 1954–1974,” The Americas 67:3 (January 2011), pp. 375–397.

James Alexander Robertson Memorial Prize (for most distinguished article in Hispanic American Historical Review)

Marcela Echeverri, “Popular Royalists, Empire, and Politics in Southwestern New Granada, 1809–1819,” Hispanic American Historical Review 91:2 (May 2011), pp. 237–269.

Honorable Mention: Karen Racine, “This England and This Now: British Cultural and Intellectual Influences in the Spanish American Independence Era,” Hispanic American Historical Review 90:3 (August 2010), pp. 423–454.

Mexican History Book Prize (awarded annually for the book or article judged to be the most significant work on the history of Mexico)

Paul Eiss, In the Name of El Pueblo: Place, Community, and the Politics of History in Yucatán (Durham: Duke University Press, 2010).

Honorable Mention: Pablo Picatto, The Tyranny of Opinion: Honor in the Construction of the Mexican Public Sphere (Durham: Duke University Press, 2010).

Lydia Cabrera Award (to support research on Cuba between 1492 and 1868)

Sitela Álvarez (Tulane University)

Lewis Hanke Prize (to support the transformation of a dissertation into a book)

David Rex Galindo (Southern Methodist University), “‘To Sin No More’: Franciscan Missionaries and the Conversion of the Hispanic World.” [End Page 118]

Honorable Mention: Camilo Trumper (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York), “‘A ganar la calle’: The Politics of Public Space and Public Art in Allende’s Chile.”

James R. Scobie Memorial Award (to support exploratory research to determine the feasibility of a Ph.D. dissertation topic dealing with some facet of Latin American history)

Adriana Chira (University of Michigan), “Itinerant Revolutionaries: Cuban Migrant Workers in the U.S. South during the 19th Century.”

Benjamin Nobbs-Thiessen (Emory University), “Mennonite Colonists in the Eastern Bolivian Lowlands, 1954–1970.”

Shawn Moura (University of Maryland), “Buying Brazil: Transnational Identities and Consumer Cultures, 1945–1975.”

Matthew Rarey (University of Wisconsin), “Performance, Visuality, and the Contested Public Spaces of Salvador da Bahia, 1763–1835.”

Erin Zavitz (University of Florida), “Revolutionary Memories: Celebrating and Commemorating the Haitian Revolution, 1804–2004.”

Academy of American Franciscan History Dissertation Fellowship

The Academy of American Franciscan History is...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 117-119
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.