In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Contributors

Peter Loewenberg is a Professor Emeritus of History and Political Psychology at UCLA and a Training and Supervising Analyst and former Dean of the New Center for Psychoanalysis, Los Angeles. He is Chair of the International Psychoanalytical Association (IPA) China Committee. He is the author of Fantasy and Reality in History (Oxford University, 1995); Decoding the Past: The Psychohistorical Approach (Transaction, 1996); and Editor (with Nellie Thompson) of 100 Years of the IPA: The Centenary History of the International Psychoanalytical Association (IPA, 2011). He was the Sir Peter Ustinov Visiting Professor at the University of Vienna in 2006. In 2010, he received the Nevitt Sanford Award for his professional contributions to the field of Political Psychology.

Todd McGowan teaches cultural theory and film at the University of Vermont. He is the author of The Real Gaze: Film Theory After Lacan (SUNY, 2007) and Out of Time: Desire in Atemporal Cinema (University of Minnesota, 2011), among other books.

Paul Reitter teaches in the Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures at Ohio State University. He is the author of The Anti-Journalist: Karl Kraus and Jewish Self-Fashioning in Fin-de-siècle Europe (University of Chicago, 2008) and the forthcoming On the Origins of Jewish Self-Hatred (Princeton University, 2012). His articles and essays have appeared in Jewish Social Studies, the TLS, and Harper’s Magazine, among other publications.

Michael S. Roth is President of Wesleyan University. He was the Curator of “Sigmund Freud: Conflict and Culture,” organized by the Library of Congress. He has written five books of intellectual history, including Psycho-Analysis as History: Negation and Freedom in Freud (Cornell University, 1987); The Ironist’s Cage: Memory, Trauma, and the Construction of History (Columbia University, [End Page 799] 1995); and most recently, Memory, Trauma, and History: Essays on Living with the Past (Columbia University, 2011).

Elisabeth Roudinesco is a historian, Research Professor, and Docteur d’État in the Arts and Human Sciences. Since 1991, she has been Director of Research in the Department of History, University of Paris VII. The author of numerous books and articles on literary criticism and the history of thought—including a seminal biography of Jacques Lacan and a history of psychoanalysis in France—she was a member of the École freudienne de Paris (1969–1981). At the University of Paris VII, she is a member of the École Doctorale-Economie, Espaces, Sociétés, Civilisations; the U.F.R. Géographie, Histoire, Sciences de la Société; and the Laboratoire Identités, Cultures, Territoires. Since 1996, she has been a regular contributor to Le Monde. Since 2007, she has served as President of the Société internationale d’histoire de la psychiatrie et de la psychanalyse/International Society for the History of Psychiatry and Psychoanalysis. She is a member of the editorial advisory boards of the journals History of Psychiatry and Cliniques méditerranéennes. In London, she has been a Visiting Professor at Middlesex University and the Centre for Psychoanalysis, and an Honorary Visiting Professor at Roehampton University. She is a member of the Board of Directors of the Fondation pour la recherche en psychiatrie et en santé mentale. Her book on psychoanalysis in contemporary society and science, Why Psychoanalysis? (Columbia University), appeared in English in 2001.

Debora Silverman is Distinguished Professor of History and Art History at UCLA and holds the University of California President’s Chair in Modern European History, Art and Culture. She has authored three books: Selling Culture: Bloomingdale’s, Diana Vreeland, and the New Aristocracy of Taste in Reagan’s America (Pantheon, 1986); Art Nouveau in Fin-de-siècle France: Politics, Psychology, and Style (University of California, 1989); and Van Gogh and Gauguin: The Search for Sacred Art (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 2001). Professor Silverman has received ACLS, NEH, Guggenheim, and Getty Research Institute fellowships and she was a member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. In 2008, she was elected a member of the American Academy [End Page 800] of Art and Sciences. Her book, Van Gogh and Gauguin: The Search for Sacred Art, co-won the 2001 PEN American Center/Architectural Digest National Prize for outstanding writing on the visual arts; the Ralph...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 799-802
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.