In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

This Side of the Mountain Sidney Saylor Farr THE 1994 APPALACHIAN HERITAGE AWARDS We are happy to announce the first winners of the Denny C. Plattner Appalachian Heritage Awards, which were established a year ago by Kenneth and Elissa May Plattner in honor of their deceased son. A distinguished committee read all four 1993 issues and chose first-, second-, and third-prize winners in three categories: article/essay, fiction, and poetry. The winners are: Article/Essay Jim Wayne Miller Robert J. Higgs Anne F. Caudill "The Kentucky (Re)CycleSpring 1993 "Sut Lovingood and the Hard No in Appalachian Literature"Winter 1993 "Life with a Polemicist"Spring 1993 Fiction Charles M. Saplak Barbara Smith Rhonda Strickland "Yellow Paper" "The Other Half of the House" "The C&O Canal, 1832" Summer 1993 Fall 1993 Summer 1993 Poetry Edward C. Lynskey Rosemary Pitman-Redmon Mark DeFoe "Graveyard Quilt" "Arrogant Hands" "Leaving the Hills" Spring 1993 Winter 1993 Fall 1993 Wilma Dykeman, author, lecturer, teacher, is chairperson of the committee. The other members are Grace Edwards, scholar and teacher and director of the Appalachian Center at Radford University at Radford, Virginia; Robert Morgan, writer and poet, professor of English at Cornell University; Loyal Jones author, speaker, and former director of the Appalachian Center at Berea Colige. "The committee members were surprised and delighted to see how much talent and variety were represented in those four issues," Dykeman said. "We feel deep appreciation for the magazine's existence in the first place, and for the care and good judgment used in selecting and presenting an attractive format for the material. It is both good and certainly enjoyable that the magazine publishes not only well-established writers but unknowns as well. While some of the articles, stories, and poems were contributed by nationally known writers, the poem we chose for second place was written by a young woman who had not previously been published. "We hope that by providing this voice for our region, we can also attract many new readers who will discover the talent which is part of our Appalachian heritage." Our heartiest congratulations to all the winners! The Denny C. Plattner Appalachian Heritage Awards to honor excellence in writing were established by Kenneth and Elissa May Plattner to be given each year in memory of their son, who had a deep appreciation of writers and writing. First prize is $200 in each category , with second- and third-prize winners receiving a gift from the Berea College Student Craft Industries. ...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 3-4
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.