In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • News and Events


American Association for the History of Medicine

Osler Medal Essay Contest, 2000. The William Osler Medal is awarded annually for the best unpublished essay on a medico-historical topic written by a student enrolled in a school of medicine or of osteopathy in the United States or Canada. All students who are candidates for the degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy or are graduates of the class of 1999 are eligible. The essay must have been written while the entrant was a student in good standing. Students who are currently enrolled, or have been enrolled, in graduate studies in history, the humanities, or the social sciences are not eligible for the competition. Such persons may be eligible for the Richard Shryock Medal of the AAHM.

This medal, first awarded in 1942, commemorates Sir William Osler, who stimulated an interest in the humanities among medical students and physicians. The writer of the winning essay will be invited to attend the 2000 meeting of the Association, to be held from 18–21 May 2000 in Bethesda, Maryland, where the medal will be conferred. Reasonable travel expenses will be defrayed. Essays may pertain either to the historical development of a contemporary medical problem or to a topic within the health sciences related to a discrete period of the past, and should demonstrate either original research or an unusual appreciation and understanding of the problems discussed. The essay must be entirely the work of one contestant, and of a maximum length of ten thousand words (including endnotes).

The required contest submission form (for substantiation of student status) and rules must be obtained from the Osler Medal Committee chair: Thomas Huddle, M.D., Ph.D., University of Alabama—Birmingham, 111-P VAMC, 700 19th St. S., Birmingham, AL 35209-6118. Entries must be postmarked no later than 1 February 2000.

Shryock Medal Essay Contest, 2000. Graduate students in the United States and Canada are invited to enter the Shryock Medal Essay Contest. The medal honors Richard Harrison Shryock (1893–1972), a pioneer among historians interested in the history of medicine. The award is given for an outstanding, unpublished essay on any topic in the history of medicine. The essay must be the result of original research or show an unusual appreciation and understanding of problems in the history of medicine. The winner will be invited to attend the 2000 meeting of the Association from 18–21 May 2000 in Bethesda, Maryland, where [End Page 473] the medal will be conferred. Reasonable travel expenses for the winner will be defrayed. Students must be enrolled in a graduate program other than medical school at the time of submission (those students currently eligible for the Association’s Osler Medal competition for medical students are not eligible for the Shryock Medal).

Interested students must obtain guidelines and an application form from the Shryock Medal Committee chair: Toby Anita Appel, Ph.D., M.L.S., Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Yale University, P.O. Box 208014, New Haven, CT 06520-8014.

Please obtain these materials early. Essays must be postmarked no later than 1 February 2000.

National and International News

American Hospital Association. The Hospital Administration Oral History Collection, jointly sponsored by the American Hospital Association (AHA) and the Health Research and Educational Trust, and coordinated through the AHA Resource Center, has added a new oral history to its collection: Matthew F. McNulty in First Person. Dr. McNulty entered the field of hospital administration during World War II; was an administrator at veterans’ hospitals in Birmingham, Alabama, and Chicago; held academic positions at the University of Alabama Hospitals and Clinics; and was chancellor of the Georgetown University Medical Center. Copies of the 90 oral histories in the Center’s collection are available for onsite research or may be borrowed through the Center’s fee-based document delivery service. A complete list of the men and women included in the oral history collection is available through the AHA web site at . For more information, contact Jeanette Harlow, American Hospital Association Resource Center, One North Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606-3421 (tel.: 312-422-2013).

Bakken Library and Museum. The Bakken Library...

Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 473-482
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.