In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Southeastern Geographer Vol. 21, No. 1, May 1981, pp. 64-65 REVIEW OF THE THIRTY-FIFTH ANNUAL MEETING, BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA Neal G. Lineback The Thirty-Fifth Annual Meeting ofthe Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers was held November 23-25, 1980, at the Donaldson-Brown Center for Continuing Education on the campus ofVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, Virginia. The Local Arrangements Committee, chaired by Robert W. Morrill, consisted of nine faculty from the Department of Geography at VPI-SU. A special invitation was extended to the membership of the Middle Atlantic Division; 15 from that Division were on the program. Of the 303 registrants at the meeting, 103 participated as authors on 89 papers. A well-attended preconvention Map Library Workshop was arranged and directed by Donald Daidone. Four field trips were organized by representatives from local universities and agencies. The opening session, presided over by President Stephen S. Birdsall, began with the introduction of administrators from VPI-SU and Radford University and concluded with a keynote speech. Program highlights included the Southern Studies Plenary Session (organized by Sam Hilliard) and the following special sessions: Elderly Networks and Services (arranged by James Bohland), Environmental Perception and Environmental History (Cesar N. Caviedes), Migration of the Elderly (D. Gordon Bennett), Cultural Ecology (William Doolittle ), and Geography and Undergraduate Planning (Robert L. Keber). A total of 23 concurrent sessions, including the Honors Luncheon, were necessary to accommodate all of the activities. At the Business Meeting it was announced that James Fisher and Melinda Meade were elected Vice-President and Secretary, respectively , for 1981-1982, and that Sidney R. Jumper was elected Regional Councillor, 1981-1984. Elected to the Nominating Committee for 1981 were Sallie M. Ives, Richard G. Silvernail, and Burke G. Vanderhill, Dr. Lineback is Professor ofGeography at the University ofAlabama, Tuscaloosa , AL 35486. He served as Vice-President and as Program Chairman of the Division during 1980. Vol. XXI, No. 1 65 Chairperson. The elected 1981 Honors Committee consists of Stanley Brunn, John Upchurch, and Robert W. Morrill, Chairperson. No Honorary Life Members were nominated by the Honors Committee and no deaths were recorded among Division members during 1980. The traditional Honors Luncheon was highlighted with an address by Nicholas F. Helburn, President of the Association ofAmerican Geographers , on "Directions for Growth of the AAG." The Luncheon was concluded with the announcement of Student Honors Competition winners : Cathy Melvin Efird, a Ph.D. student at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and Judith F. Russell, a Ph.D. student at the University of Georgia. ...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 64-65
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.