In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Southeastern Geographer Vol. 22, No. 1, May 1982, pp. 87-88 REVIEW OF THE THIRTY-SIXTH ANNUAL MEETING, ATLANTA, GEORGIA James S. Fisher The Thirty-Sixth Annual Meeting of the Southeastern Division ofthe Association of American Geographers was held November 22-24, 1981, at the Marriott Hotel at Perimeter Center, Atlanta, Georgia. The Department of Geography, Georgia State University, served as the host institution. The Local Arrangements Committee, chaired by Richard Pillsbury, included all members of the Department of Geography at Georgia State University. The final registration count of 401 persons makes the Atlanta meeting attendance one of the highest in divisional history. The meeting unofficially began Saturday evening with a wine and cheese reception for early arrivals at the home of Richard and Pat Pillsbury , Tucker, Georgia. Sunday activities included four field trips and a day-long Map Library Workshop arranged by Helenjane Armstrong, University of Florida. The Sunday evening opening session was presided over by President Stephen S. Rirdsall. The keynote address, "University Involvement in International Natural Resource Development," was given by Dr. S. Eugene Younts, Vice President for Services, University of Georgia. A plenary session followed as the first of 26 sessions. Three sessions consisted wholly of student papers submitted for M.A. and Ph.D. Honors competition. The program included three sessions on physical geography, two on historical geography, and others on transportation , population and migration, social-medical, economic, agriculture , and cultural geography. There were special sessions on travel patterns and impacts (arranged by Robert G. Cromley and Ronald L. Mitchelson) and on political geography (arranged by Christine Drake), and a discussion session on "The Working Woman" sponsored by the Committee on the Status of Women in Geography in the Southeast. The regional open business meeting of the A.A.G. Committee on the Status Dr. Fisher is Associate Professor of Geography at the University ofGeorgia in Athens, GA 30602. He served as Vice-President and as Program Chairman of the Division during, 1981. 88Southeastern Geographer of Women in Geography was presided over by Jackalie Blue. Two forums on "Careers in Geography" were arranged by Susan Moorlag. At the Business Meeting it was announced that Neal Lineback, University of Alabama and Charles Kovacik, University of South Carolina, were elected President and Treasurer, respectively, for 1982-1983. Elected to the Nominating Committee for 1981 were Charles M. Good, Ted Mealor, and Dennis Lord, Chairperson. The newly elected Honors Committee includes Julian Minghi, David Niddrie, and Sallie Ives, Chairperson. Sidney R. Jumper was awarded Honorary Life Membership . It was noted that James R. Anderson, an Honorary Life Member of the Division, passed away on December 24, 1980. Morton D. Winsberg presented memorial commentary. At the Honors Luncheon Robert W. Morrill, on behalf of the Honors Committee, announced that Ellen K. Cromley, University of Kentucky, won the award for best Ph.D. student paper and that Jonathan Phillips, East Carolina University, won the award for best M.A. student paper. Richard L. Morrill, President of the Association of American Geographers , presented the luncheon address, "The Status of Geography in the Eighties." ...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 87-88
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.