In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

CONTRIBUTORS' NOTES Bruce Beasley's first book, Spirituals, was published by Wesleyan University Press last year. Don Keck DuPree has published in Ploughshares, The Southern Review, and elsewhere. Stuart Friebert directs the writing program at Oberlin and co-edits Field and Oberlin College Press. He's published many volumes of poems and translations. Joseph Harrison studied at Yale and Johns Hopkins, and lives in Baltimore. His first book, The Imposition of Ashes, is yet unpublished. Lola Haskins has three books of poems, most recently Across Her Broad Lap Something Wonderful (State Street, 1989). Ben A. Heller has translated poetry by Raúl Barrientos and others, and is completing a book of poems titled Nathan and the Beast. David Keller's most recent book is Land That Wasn't Ours, from CarnegieMellon (1989). Leonard Kress has published The Centralia Mine Fire (Flume Press). Dixie Lane has poetry forthcoming in Poetry Miscellanei/, The Kenyon Review, and Antioch Review. Robert McNamara's first book will be published by Wesleyan University Press in Spring 1990. Jack Myers' latest book, As Long as You're Happy (Graywolf Press, 1986) was a winner of the 1985 National Poetry Series. He has co-edited A Profile of American Poetry, due out in 1990 from Southern Illinois Press. Eric Nelson has published poetry in many magazines. His first book, The Light Bringers, appeared in 1984. Suzanne Paola has poems in The Ontario Review, Antioch Review, Spreading the Word: Editors on Poetry, etc. Vaiane J. Russell recently received her MFA from the University of Maryland—College Park. Luis Omar Salinas has published six books of poetry since Crazy Gypsy in 1970. Kathleen Shumate has published in several magazines and been editor and poetry editor of Pacific Review. James Simmons has published 8 volumes of poetry and is Writer-inResidence at Queen's University, Belfast. Jon Veinberg is the author of An Owl's Landscape, Vanderbilt University Press. Julia Wendell's first collection of poems, An Otherwise Perfect History, was published in 1988 by Ithaca House. Liza Wieland has work in Ploughshares, Black Warrior Review, Carolina Quarterly, etc. Will Baker is the author of two critical books, two novels, and two non-fiction books, Backward and Mountain Blood. Elizabeth Csicsery-Ronay is a translator and writer specializing in music, and Hungarian and French literature. She currently lives in Belgium where she is working on translations of three books. Michael Gurian spent two years at Ankara University and has various stories and articles published in the US and Turkey. G. W. Hawkes is associate fiction editor of High Plains Literary Review. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, GQ, The Missouri Review, etc. Thomas E. Kennedy is widely published. His book on the short fiction on Andre Dubus appeared in 1988 from Twayne. He is European editor for Cimarron Review. Wally Lamb has recently completed his first novel, Whales. Jean R. Matthew's story collection, Testimony, won the University of Missouri Press Breakthrough Series in 1987. Steven Schwartz is the winner of the 1988 Nelson Algren Award for Short Fiction and the author of To Leningrad in Winter, a collection of stories. Ruth Yunker has had short stories in The North American Review, Boulevard, and EPOCH. David OhIe has published a novel, Motorman. His stories have appeared widely, including several times in The Missouri Review. He is currently editing a collection of oral histories about hippies in Kansas. Steve Weinberg is a freelance writer whose biography of Armand Hammer will be published by Little, Brown in late 1989. Peter Wild is currently doing research on turn-of-the-century desert writer John C. Van Dyke. ...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. I-II
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.