In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

The Texas State Historical Association would like to thank all of the members who came to our 1 1 3th Annual Meeting in Austin, which took place March 26-28, 200g. Despite rumors to the contrary, the Texas State Historical Association remains alive and well, and we plan to be around for a long time to come. Our Director of Special Events, Terri Killen, deserves a special thanks for all her efforts in putting together this year's meeting. Flanked by Humanities Texas Executive Director Michael Gillette and State Representative Myra Crownover of Denton County, outgoing TSHA President Fran Vick receives an award from Humanities Texas for "outstanding contributions to the humanities in Texas." Photo by Ann Smith. Southwestern CoiUcäon 88Southwestern Historical QuarterlyJuly TSHA Executive DirectorJ. Kent Calder and Ty Cashion, Associate Professor of History at Sam Houston State University—most likely moments after once again trading barbs over the "Little Fuss on the Big Fossil" of their rival Fort Worth high schools. Photo by Ann Smith. Rick McCaslin, TSHA Fellow and Chair of the History Department at the University of North Texas, Carlos Blanton, Associate Professor ofHistory at Texas A&M, and Terri Killen of the TSHA strike a pose at the Annual Meeting. Photo by Ann Smith. 20ogSouthwestern Collection8g Considering the upheavals and difficulties of the past two year, our return to Austin was a bittersweet but welcome opportunity for our Denton staff and Austin staff to reunite and reestablish old bonds. In keeping with spring tradition in Central Texas, the weather cooperated nicely—about half the time. Beautiful, sunny weather and comfortable temperatures alternated with torrential downpours. Outgoing president Frances B. Vick entertained the attendees of the "presidential banquet with a rollicking lecture on her ancestor Martin Parmer. We are grateful to have had Paula Mitchell Marks of St. Edward's University speak at the Women in Texas History Luncheon and Rick McCaslin of the University of North Texas speak at the Book Lovers' and Texana Collectors' Breakfast. A hearty "thank you" to the Society of Southwest Archivists, the Texas Archaeological Society, the Texas Oral History Association, the Texas Folklore Society, the Texas Catholic Historical Organization, and the Texas Baptist Historical Collection for participating in joint sessions with us at the meeting. Program Committee chair Carolina Castillo Crimm and all the committee members—Jean Stuntz, Bruce Winders, Donald Frazier, J'Nell Pate, Jorge Iber, Diana Davids Hinton, Kenneth Hafertepe, and Janet Schmelzer-Woods—deserve praise for putting together thirty-three outstanding sessions. Finally, we would like to thank the more than fifty donors who contributed to our silent auction, and Southwestern Historical Quarterly editor Randolph B. ("Mike") Campbell and associate editor Ryan Schumacher would like to thank all the attendees of the Publications Workshop for a highly enjoyable session—especially those ofyou complimented us afterward! We hope that you will be able tojoin us for the 1 14th Annual Meeting of the TSHA at the Marriott Quorum in Dallas, March 4-6, 2010. The Program Committee, chaired by Kenneth Hafertepe and also comprised of Stephanie Cole, T. Lindsay Baker, Tai Kreidler, Jerry D. Thompson, Andrés Tijerina, Alex Pratt, Lynn Denton, Richard Lowe, John Miller Morris, and Stephen L. Hardin, is already hard at work putting sessions together for the meeting. *** Walter L. Buenger, Professor of History and Head of the Department of History at Texas A&M University, began his year-long term as President of the Texas State Historical Association as the annual meeting drew to a close. Dr. Buenger is a native of Fort Stockton in West Texas and received his BA., M.A., and Ph.D. from Rice University. He has taught at Texas A&M since ig7g and is the author several books and articles on Texas history, including Secession and the Union in Texas goSouthwestern Historical QuarterlyJuly (University of Texas Press, ig84); TL· Path to a Modern South: Norfaast Texas Between Reconstruction and the Great Depression (University of Texas Press, 2001), winner of the TSHA's Coral H. Tullis Award for best book on Texas history in 2002; Texas Merchant: Marvin Leonard & Fort Worth (with Victoria Buenger; Texas A&M University Press, igg8), and "Secession and the Texas German Community: Editor Lindheimer vs. Editor Flake," which appeared in the...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 86-110
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.