In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Manoa 14.2 (2002-2003) 255

[Access article in PDF]


Producing Century of the Tiger has been a community effort. For making it possible, the editors would like first to thank those individuals who made generous monetary gifts, many of whom also gave generously of their time, energy, and moral support:

In memory of Pyung Chan Chun
        and Shin Ai Park Chun
Arthur and Patricia Park
Frank and Elaine Min
Helen Pyo Park
Gayle Park Ishima
Ruth Kiehm
Evelyn Choi Shon
Clifford and Esther Arinaga
Dr. Edmund S. M. Whang
Stephen T. Sawyer
Dr. Timothy Y. C. Choy
In memory of Dora Moon,
        Wihla Chung, and
        Ai Young Chung Higuchi
Barbara Choi Takashige and Family
Robert and May Kim
Roberta W. S. Chang
Estate of Timothy I. Wee Sr.
Estate of Miriam K. Wee
George Hong
Elizabeth W. Takahashi
In honor of Mary Hong Park
Melvia Kawashima
Dr. Rosie Kim Chang
Jan Tamura
Lester and Pearl Kim
Hon. Herbert Y. C. Choy
Elizabeth McCutcheon
Esther Mookini
Rachel Lee

The editors also thank the leadership of the Centennial Committee of Korean Immigration to the United States, General Chairperson Donald Kim, Vice General Chairperson Duk Hee Lee Murabayashi, and Academic Committee Chairman Professor Edward J. Shultz, who is also Director of the University of Hawai'i Center for Korean Studies. They thank Elsa Carl and Clarence Lee for the book's design, and photographer Tom Haar for sharing his incomparable work. Julia White, Asian Art Curator at the Honolulu Academy of Arts, generously helped by providing access to the Academy's fine collection of Korean art. Many excellent Korean American artists also offered their work—more excellent pieces than could be used. Among other individuals who were very helpful to this project were Dr. Kyungmi Chun, Henry Ahn, Clifford Arinaga, Charles Park, Roberta Chang, Joan Namkoong, Evelyn Choi Shon, Joan Yanagihara, and a generous donor in Austin, Texas, who wishes to remain anonymous. The editors would like to thank the staff of Ma-noa: managing editor Pat Matsueda; production editor Liana Holmberg; associate production editor Lavonne Leong; assistant editors Naomi Long, Kathleen Matsueda, and Amber Stierli; Abernethy fellows Celeste McCarthy, Brent Fujinaka, and Georganne Nordstrom; intern Eryn Nakamura; and volunteers Phyllis Young and Lisa Ottiger. The editors would also like to acknowledge the University of Hawai'i College of Languages, Linguistics, and Literature for its continuing support of the cross-cultural and international Asia-Pacific projects of Manoa, which in 2003 is celebrating its fifteenth anniversary.




Additional Information

Print ISSN
p. 255
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.