In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Inter-American Notes

Awards, Fellowships & Prizes

As announced at its luncheon on January 8, 2010, in San Diego, California, the Conference on Latin American History recognized the superb achievements of the following scholars:

The Bolton-Johnson Prize (for Best book in English on any significant aspect of Latin American history):

Stuart Schwartz, All Can Be Saved: Religious Tolerance and Salvation in the Iberian Atlantic World (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008).

The Conference on Latin American History Prize (for most distinguished article published in a journal other than Hispanic American Historical Review or The Americas):

Robert Haskett, "Dying for Conversion: Faith, Obedience, and the Tlaxcalan Boy Martyrs in New Spain," Colonial Latin American Review 17:2 (December 2008), pp. 185-212.
Honorable Mention: Margaret Power, "The Engendering of Anticommunism and Fear in Chile's 1964 Presidential Election," Diplomatic History 32:5 (November 2008), pp. 931-953.

The Elinor Melville Prize for Latin American Environmental History (conferred annually for the best book in English, French, Spanish or Portuguese on Latin American environmental history):

Reinaldo Funes Monzote, From Rainforest to Cane Field in Cuba: An Environmental History Since 1492 (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2008).
Honorable Mention: Rosalva Loreto López, Una Vista de Ojos a una Ciudad Novohispana: La Puebla de los Angeles del Siglo XVIII (Mexico City: BUAP/CONA-CYT/INAOE, 2008). [End Page 559]

The Warren Dean Memorial Prize (awarded biennially to recognize work on the history of Brazil):

Brodwyn Fisher, A Poverty of Rights: Citizenship and Inequality in Twentieth Century Rio de Janiero (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2008).

The Howard Francis Cline Memorial Prize (conferred biennially to the book or article in English, German, or a Romance language judged to make the most significant contribution to the history of Indians in Latin America):

Yanna Yannakakis, The Art of Being In-Between: Native Intermediaries, Indian Identity, and Local Rule in Colonial Oaxaca (Durham: Duke University Press, 2008).

The James Alexander Robertson Memorial Prize (for most distinguished article in Hispanic American Historical Review):

Ezequiel Adamovsky, "Acerca de la relación entre el Radicalismo argentino y la 'clase media' (una vez más)," Hispanic American Historical Review 89:2 (May 2009), pp. 209-251.

The Tibesar Prize (for most distinguished article in The Americas):

Michael Gismondi and Jeremy Mouat, "La Enojosa Cuestión de Emery: The Emery Claim in Nicaragua and American Foreign Policy, c. 1888-1910" The Americas 65:3 (January 2009), pp. 375-409.
Honorable Mention: Yanna Yannakakis, "Witnesses, Spatial Practices, and a Land Dispute in Colonial Oaxaca," The Americas 65:2 (October 2008), pp. 161-192.

The James R. Scobie Memorial Award (to support exploratory research to determine the feasibility of a Ph.D. dissertation topic dealing with some facet of Latin American history):

Sarah Hines (University of California at Berkeley), "Revolution on the Altiplano: Indigenous Communities and the Bolivian Revolution, 1945-1964."
Amy Huras (University of Toronto), "Castilianization in Peru, Sixteenth through Eighteenth Centuries."
Jordan Lauhon (University of California at Davis), "The 1877 Eruption of Cotopaxi Volcano."
Ben Reed (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), "The Role of Preaching in Colonial Mexico."
Lena Suk (Emory University), "Cinema, Space, and Systems of International Exchange in Brazil, 1964-1985." [End Page 560]

The Lewis Hanke Prize (to support the transformation of a dissertation into a book):

Celso Castilho (Vanderbilt University), "Remaking Nation and Citizenship in Northeastern Brazil: The Politics of Antislavery in Pernambuco, 1866-1893".

"The Lydia Cabrera Award (to support research on Cuba between 1492 and 1868):

Joanna Elrick (Vanderbilt University) and Daniel Rood (University of California, Irvine)

Distinguished Service Award (conferred annually upon a person whose career in scholarship, teaching, publishing, librarianship, institutional development of other fields demonstrates significant contributions to the advancement of the study of Latin American history in the United States):

Friedrich Katz (University of Chicago) [End Page 561]

Professional News

President Barack Obama has appointed Rolena Adorno to membership on the National Council on the Humanities, the advisory board to the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). Dr. Adorno, an award-winning scholar of Colonial Spanish American literature and the nineteenth-century origins of Hispanism in the United States, is the Reuben Post Halleck Professor of Spanish and Chair of...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 559-561
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.