In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Sol Miguel-Prendes

I am delighted that La corónica's new layout and logo design has met everyone's approval. Calligrapher and designer John Stevens (<>) has maintained the journal's personality while enhancing it with the expressiveness and complex shape of a hand-painted letterform especially designed for La corónica.

On the other hand, my decision to implement a recommendation of the most recent MLA Style Manual -adding print or web after each bibliographic entry- has stirred passionate, almost inflammatory, reactions. "What's next," an annoyed contributor quipped, "carrier pigeon?" La corónica is the journal of the Modern Language Association Division on Medieval Hispanic Languages, Literatures and Cultures, and we must abide by MLA guidelines, but I agree that this particular suggestion feels superfluous and, in a more damaging way, wastes time and precious paper while irritating most readers. For those reasons and above all, by popular demand, we will not add the irksome print tag any longer.

This Editor sincerely regrets the involuntary omission of Teresa Jiménez Calvente's name as guest editor of the critical cluster "Salió buen latino. Los ideales de la cultura española tardomedieval y protorrenacentista" in the volume 37.1 (Fall 2008).

As always, the Editor stands in the particular debt of certain individuals who generously contribute their time and expertise to La corónica. They invest great effort in bringing us timely news, evaluating and critiquing submissions, and offering sound advice on editorial policy. They include most recently

Samuel G. Armistead Jonathan Burgoyne
Nieves Baranda Anthony Cárdenas
Carmen Benito-Vessels Gabriela Cerghedean
Andrew Beresford Juan Carlos Conde
Hugo O. Bizzarri Jean Dangler
Marina S. Brownlee Christopher Donahue
Elizabeth Drayson Carmen Parrilla
Adriano Duque Pablo Pastrana
Steven Dworkin Óscar Perea
Nancy Joe Dyer Simone Pinet
Theresa Earenfight Donna Rogers
Daniel Eisenberg Antonio Sánchez Jiménez
Emily Francomano Martha E. Schaffer
Edward Friedman Joseph T. Snow
Ryan D. Giles Ronald E. Surtz
Michael Harney Fernando Tejedo-Herrero
Michelle Herder Juan Miguel Valero Moreno
Yonsoo Kim Louise O. Vasvári
Eukene Lacarra Mary Ann Vetterling
Benjamin Liu Laura Vivanco
Ignacio Ferrando Frutos David Wacks
Laurence de Looze Lillian von der Walde
Óscar Martín Barbara Weissberger
Alberto Montaner Jane Whetnall
José Manuel Nieto Soria Stan Whitley
Stephen Parkinson Irene Zaderenko

[End Page 1]

The senior editorial team joins me as well in expressing our gratitude to Dean Jacqueline Fetrow, Associate Provost Mark Welker, and Chair of the Department of Romance Languages Byron Wells at Wake Forest University. We also thank Dean Joseph Steinmetz and Associate Dean Paul D'Anieri of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Kansas. Without their continued financial support, this journal could not continue. [End Page 2]

Sol Miguel-Prendes
La corónica


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 1-2
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.