In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Election Watch

ELECTION RESULTS (March–June 2009)

Albania: Parliamentary elections were scheduled for June 28; results will be reported in a future issue.

Algeria: In presidential elections on April 9, incumbent Abdelaziz Bouteflika was reelected to a third term with 90 percent of the vote. Louisa Hanoune of the Trotskyist Workers' Party, who in 2004 was the country's first female presidential candidate, won 4 percent, and Moussa Touati of the Algerian National Front won 2 percent.

Argentina: Legislative elections were scheduled for June 28; results will be reported in a future issue.

Ecuador: In the April 26 presidential election, incumbent Rafael Correa of the Alianza PAIS won 52 percent of the vote, while former president Lucio Gutiérrez of the January 21 Patriotic Society Party, who was ousted in 2005, won 28 percent. According to preliminary results of the concurrent legislative elections for the 124-seat National Congress, the PAIS Movement won 46 percent of the vote and 58 seats, the January 21 Patriotic Society Party won 15 percent and 19 seats, the Social Christian Party won 14 percent and 11 seats, and the Institutional Renewal Party of National Action won 6 percent and 8 seats.

El Salvador: In the presidential election on March 15, Mauricio Funes of the Farabundo Martí National Liberation Front (FMLN) won with 51.3 percent of the vote to the Nationalist Republican Alliance's (ARENA) Rodrigo Ávila's 48.7 percent. See the article by Forrest D. Colburn on pp. 153–67 above for further details.

Guinea-Bissau: Following the assassination of President João Bernardo [End Page 175] Viera on March 2, presidential elections were scheduled to be held on June 28; results will be reported in a future issue.

India: In elections for the 543-seat Lok Sabha, held between April 16 and May 13, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's Indian National Congress– led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) won 262 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party–led National Democratic Alliance won 158 seats. The Third Front alliance led by the Left Front, of which the Communist Party of India (Marxist) is a part, won 79 seats. The Fourth Front alliance, composed of former UPA parties, won 27 seats. Independent candidates or nonaffiliated parties won the remaining 17 seats.

Indonesia: In April 9 legislative elections for the 560-seat People's Representative Council, President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono's Democratic Party won 21 percent of the vote and 148 seats, while Vice President Jusuf Kalla's Golkar Party won 14 percent and 108 seats. Former president Megawati Sukarnoputri's Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle won 14 percent and 93 seats; the Prosperous Justice Party won 8 percent and 59 seats; the National Mandate Party won 6 percent and 42 seats; the United Development Party won 5 percent and 39 seats; the National Awakening Party won 5 percent and 26 seats; the Great Indonesia Movement Party won 4 percent and 30 seats; and the People's Conscience Party won 4 percent and 15 seats.

Iran: The presidential election was scheduled for June 12; results will be reported in a future issue.

Kuwait: The National Assembly elected in May 2008 was dissolved by the Emir and new elections were held on May 16. Political parties are illegal, but of the 50 elected seats it appeared that independent candidates won 24 seats, Islamists won 16 seats, liberal candidates won 7 seats, and the Popular Action Bloc won 3 seats. Four women were elected, becoming the first successful female parliamentary candidates in Kuwait's history.

Lebanon: Parliamentary elections were held on June 7; results will be reported in a future issue.

Lithuania: In the May 17 presidential election, Dalia Grybauskaite, the European Union's budget chief and an independent candidate, won 69 percent of the vote and will be the first female president of Lithuania. Algirdas Butkevièius of the Social Democratic Party of Lithuania won 12 percent, while the other five candidates each received less than 7 percent.

Macedonia: In the April 5 presidential runoff, Gjorgje Ivanov of the VMRO DPMNE party defeated former internal-affairs minister Ljubomir Frèkoski of the SDSM party with 63 percent of the vote. Turnout was at 42 percent, just over...