In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Clúdach: Cover

[View Cover Image]

The covers of volume 13 of New Hibernia Review will feature architectural drawings found in the collections of the Irish Architectural Archive/Cartlann Ailtireahta na hÉireann. The Archive is a nonprofit organization that collects and preserves the records of Irish architecture from the earliest times to the present day. Located at 45 Merrion Square in Dublin, the Archive’s collections are the single largest body of historic architectural records in Ireland. They include more than 250,000 drawings ranging in date from the late seventeenth to the late twentieth centuries, more than 400,000 photographs (one of the largest collections of photographs in Ireland), and a reference library of more than 15,000 printed items.

The image on our spring cover is the south elevation of Humewood, near Kiltegan, County Wicklow. Built largely of granite, Humewood stands as a stunning exemplar of Victorian Gothic Revival design, replete with stepped gables, battered buttresses, chimneystacks, and spires. Designed by the celebrated architect William White (1825–1900) for William Wentworth Fitzwilliam Dick (the Right Honourable Hume Dick), MP for Wicklow, the 60,000-square-foot residence was built from 1867–70 by the contractor Albert Kimberley. White—who was known primarily as an architect of churches—developed extravagant designs that resulted in enormous cost overruns, which the builder refused to pay. The resulting lawsuit ruined White. Humewood Castle, like many Irish castles and great homes, was turned into a luxury rental property in the 1990s. In 2007, the Lalco Corporation acquired it, with plans to turn it into a state-of-the-art resort.

We thank the Irish Architectural Archive, and especially Colum O’Riordain, archive administrator, for generous assistance in providing this and future cover images. [End Page 159]

...

pdf

Share