In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • The Society for Textual Scholarship

Founded in 1979, the Society for Textual Scholarship is devoted to providing a forum, in its biennial conferences and in its journal Textual Cultures: Texts, Contexts, Interpretation (formerly Text) for the discussion of the implications of current research in a variety of contemporary textual disciplines. Topics subsumed under its domain include: the discovery, enumeration, description, bibliographical and codicological analysis, editing, and annotation of texts in disciplines such as literature, history, musicology, biblical studies, philosophy, art history, legal history, history of science and technology, computer science, library science, lexicography, epigraphy, palaeography, cinema studies, theater, linguistics, as well as textual and literary theory. All of these fields of inquiry have been represented in the Society's biennial conference or in its journal since the first conference in New York in 1981.

The Society's biennial conferences, held in New York City, encourage the exchange of ideas across disciplinary boundaries. While there are usually period or author-centered sessions, the plenary sessions address a general textual problem with contributions from speakers from various disciplines. Complementing the plenary sessions, STS members may also arrange their own sessions at the conferences (for example, on specific projects, a theoretical problem). At each conference, the Fredson Bowers Prize is awarded for a distinguished essay in textual scholarship published in the previous two years. Past winners include: James L. West III, Adrian Weisss, Neil Fraistat, Michael O'Gorman, Robert Clare, Marta L. Werner, and Nicholas Frankel. Beginning in 2007, the Society will also present the Finneran Award in recognition of the best edition or book about editorial theory and/or practice published in the English language during the preceding two calendar years.

The Society's Fourteenth International Interdisciplinary Conference will be held March 14–17, 2007, at New York University in New York City. Program Co-Chairs are Nicholas Frankel, Virginia Commonwealth [End Page 213] University ( and Marta Werner, D'Youville College ( The primary topics of the 2007 conference are textual environments, textual cultures, textual ruins, textual arts (including the book arts), and digital texts and editing projects. For the Call for Papers and program information, please see the Society's website (

The editors of Textual Cultures welcome submissions from specialists in diverse fields. All submissions are refereed, being evaluated both by members of the STS Advisory Board and by selected independent scholars. Essays in English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish should be submitted to Textual Cultures either: 1) by attachment in Microsoft Word (with plates and tables scanned as separate files to with one hard copy sent concomitantly to: H. Wayne Storey, Editor: Textual Cultures, 642 Ballantine Hall, Department of French and Italian, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405, USA; or 2) in four copies with accompanying diskette in Microsoft Word to H. Wayne Storey. Essays should generally be formatted according the Chicago Manual of Style, style B.

Two copies of books for review from European publishers should be sent to:

  • Alvaro Barbieri:

  • Contrà Riale, 2

  • 36100 Vicenza

  • Italy


Two copies of books for review from American and British publishers should be sent to:

  • Daniel O'Sullivan

  • Department of Modern Languages

  • Bondurant Hall C-115

  • The University of Mississippi

  • University MS 38677-1848

  • USA


For information regarding the Society for Textual Scholarship, please see the Society's website ( or write to: [End Page 214]

  • Robin Schulze

  • Executive Director, STS

  • Department of English

  • 112 Burrowes Building

  • University Park, PA 16802-6200

  • USA


Current Officers:

President: George Bornstein, University of Michigan

Executive Director: Robin Schulze, Penn State University

Secretary: Meg Roland, Marylhurst College

Treasurer: Elizabeth Loizeaux, University of Maryland

Web Coordinator: Neil Fraistat, University of Maryland

Executive Committee:


Anna Lou Ashby, Pierpont Morgan Library

Melissa Dinverno, Indiana University

Raimonda Modiano, University of Washington

Jack Stillinger, University of Illinois


Stanley Boorman, New York University

David Gants, University of New Brunswick

Alexandra Gillespie, University of Toronto


Kathleen Weil-Garris Brandt, New York University

Dario Del Puppo, Trinity College, Hartford

Andrew Stauffer, Boston University

John Kevin Young, Marshall University

Past Presidents of the Society for Textual Scholarship...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 213-215
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.