In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Election Watch

ELECTION RESULTS (June-September 1994)

Barbados: In elections on September 6, the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won 19 of the 28 seats in the House of Assembly. The ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) garnered 8 seats and the National Democratic Party (NDP) followed with 1 seat. BLP leader Owen Arthur, a 44-year-old economist, was sworn in as prime minister, succeeding Lloyd Erskine Sandiford, who had held the office since 1987.

Belarus: Running on a platform of anticorruption and greater economic integration with Russia, radical populist candidate Alexander Lukashenko soundly defeated Prime Minister Vyacheslav Kebich in a runoff presidential election on July 10, winning more than 80 percent of the vote. Kebich, previously assumed to be the favorite, finished with only 14 percent. In the first round of balloting on June 23, Lukashenko took nearly 45 percent of the vote but fell short of the majority needed to win, while Kebich finished second with 17 percent.

Colombia: In a presidential runoff held on June 19, Liberal Party candidate Emesto Samper Pizano won 50.3 percent of the vote to defeat Conservative Party candidate Andrés Pastrana Arango, who took 48.6 percent. This was Colombia's closest presidential race in more than two decades; unlike the violent 1990 presidential campaign that saw the murders of three candidates, it was also one of the most peaceful.

Dominican Republic: Unofficial results from legislative elections held on May 16 showed the Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD) in first place, with 15 of the 30 contested seats in the Senate and 57 seats in the 120-member Chamber of Deputies. The PRD was followed closely in both houses by President Joaquín Balaguer's Revolutionary Social Christian [End Page 180] Party (PRSC), which took 14 seats in the Senate and 50 seats in the lower house. The Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) trailed with 1 seat in the Senate and 13 seats in the Chamber.

Guatemala: The Guatemalan Republican Front (FRG), the party of former dictator Efraín Ríos Montt, which pledged during its preelection campaign to crack down on crime and corruption, emerged victorious in legislative elections held on August 14, taking 32 seats in the reduced 80-member Congress (constitutional reforms passed in January 1994 eliminated 36 seats). Ríos Montt, who was deposed in 1983 by a military coup, will now assume a legislative seat. The National Advancement Party (PAN) finished with 24 seats, followed by the Guatemalan Christian Democratic Party, which won a total of 13 seats. The National Center Union, the National Liberation Movement, and the Democratic Union divided the remaining 11 seats.

Guinea-Bissau: In a first-round presidential election held on July 3, President João Bernardo Vieira took 46 percent of the vote—24 percentage points more than his nearest opponent, Koumba Yalla, but not an outright majority. In a runoff on August 7, Vieira won with 52 percent of the vote. In legislative elections on July 3, the ruling African Party for the Independence of Guinea-Bissau and Cape Verde succeeded in winning 64 of the 100 contested seats in the National Assembly with 46 percent of the vote. The remaining seats were split among four other parties.

Mexico: Months of international speculation over the outcome of Mexico's August 21 presidential election ended with a clear victory by ruling Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) candidate Ernesto Zedillo Ponce de León, who finished at the polls with slightly more than 50 percent of the vote. His nearest opponent, Diego Fernáindez de Cevallos of the National Action Party (PAN), finished with 28 percent of the vote, followed by Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas of the Democratic Revolutionary Party (PRD), who trailed with less than 17 percent of the vote. Though there were reports of some irregularities, the elections were generally regarded as the cleanest in Mexico's history. The PRI victory will extend the party's unbroken 65-year rule through the year 2000.

Panama: In legislative elections on May 8, the Democratic Revolutionary Party (PRD) of newly elected president Ernesto Pérez Balladares won 31 of 72 seats in the legislature. The Arnulfista Party (PA) finished second with 14 seats, followed by...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 180-183
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.