In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Endnotes


The Museum of the Confederacy is pleased to announce the winners of its 37th annual literary awards competition.

The recipient of the 2006 Jefferson Davis Award is Dr. Eric H. Walther, professor of history at the University of Houston, for William Lowndes Yancey and the Coming of the Civil War (University of North Carolina Press). The Davis Award is given annually for the outstanding narrative work on the period of the Confederacy.

The other finalists for the Davis Award are (in alphabetical order by author) Joan E. Cashin, First Lady of the Confederacy: Varina Davis's Civil War (Harvard University Press); Glenn W. LaFantasie, Gettysburg Requiem: The Life and Lost Causes of Confederate Colonel William C. Oates (Oxford University Press); Robert Tracy McKenzie, Lincolnites and Rebels: A Divided Town in the American Civil War (Oxford University Press); and Harry S. Stout, Upon the Altar of the Nation: A Moral History of the Civil War (Viking Press).

The recipient of the 2005–6 Founders Award is Dr. Kimberly Harrison, associate professor of English at Florida International University, for "A Maryland Bride," in Deep South: The Civil War Diary of Priscilla Bond (Louisiana State University Press). The Founders Award is given biannually for excellence in the editing of primary sources on the period of the Confederacy. The Founders Award jury announced also that The Southern Journey of a Civil War Marine: The Illustrated Note-Book of Henry O. Gusley, edited and annotated by Edward T. Cotham (University of Texas Press), is the runner-up.

The Museum is accepting nominations for the 2007 Jefferson Davis Award and the 2007–8 Founders Award. For more details see the Museum's website or contact Dr. John M. Coski: [End Page 432]

Call for Papers

The City of Annapolis and the Annapolis 300 Committee announce plans to commemorate and celebrate the 300th anniversary of the 1708 Queen Anne Charter that created the municipal corporation of the City of Annapolis. As part of a year-long series of events, the committee plans an academic symposium to be held at Saint John's College in Annapolis on June 6–7, 2008, with a follow-on publication to give permanence to the scholarly contributions of the symposium. Proposals are invited for both individual papers and complete sessions. Suggested themes include, but are not be limited to: charters, municipal and otherwise, in both Great Britain and Colonial America; congressional action in the period when the city was the national capital, 1783–84; Annapolis and the expansion of civil rights from the eighteenth to the twentieth centuries; Annapolis and the American Preservation Movement; Annapolis and American Urban Archaeology; and Annapolis, the Chesapeake Bay, and the United States Navy, including the growth of the U.S. Naval Academy since 1845. Presenters will have a maximum of thirty minutes each. Papers should be no longer twenty to twenty-five minutes leaving five to ten minutes for questions and discussion. PowerPoint or slide presentations are encouraged. Scholars are invited to send a one-page summary including thesis, sources, and conclusions as well as a copy of their CV to Joseph F. Meany Jr., Ph.D. Program Chair, Annapolis 300 Symposium, 28–30 Cornhill St., Annapolis MD 21401–1706. E-mail: The deadline for proposals is December 31, 2007. Receipt of proposals will be acknowledged immediately via e-mail. Notifications will be made before January 31, 2008. Those selected should be prepared to submit a hard copy and an electronic copy of their final paper at the time of the symposium for consideration for publication.

The 47th Annual Meeting of the Florida Conference of Historians will be held February 28–March 1, 2008 at Jacksonville University on the beach at Jacksonville Beach, Florida. The conference invites submissions for panels and individual papers on any and all topics of Florida history. The conference committee publishes selected papers and summaries of roundtable discussions from each meeting in the "Selected Annual Proceedings of the Florida Conference of Historians," a refereed journal. Dr. James Cobb, B. Phinizy Spaulding Distinguished Professor of History at the University of Georgia and former president of the Southern...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 432-434
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.