In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

Manoa 18.2 (2006) 179-183

About the Contributors

Larissa Behrendt is a member of the Eualayai and Kammillaroi nations of northwest New South Wales. After graduating from the University of New South Wales Law School in 1992, she received her master's and doctorate degrees at Harvard Law School. She is now a professor of law and the director of research at Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at the University of Technology in Sydney. She also serves on numerous councils and committees, including the Administrative Decisions Tribunal, the Serious Offenders Review Council, Bangarra Dance Theatre, and the Museum of Contemporary Art. Her first novel, Home (University of Queensland Press, 2004), won the David Unaipon Award for Indigenous Writers and a Commonwealth Writers' Prize.

Judith Beveridge was born in London, England, but has lived in Australia since 1960. She has published three books of poetry—The Domesticity of Giraffes (Black Lightning Press, 1987), Accidental Grace (University of Queensland Press, 1996), and Wolf Notes (Giramondo, 2003)—which have won major prizes. She teaches poetry at Sydney University and is the poetry editor of Meanjin.

Tony Birch writes short fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. His collection of linked stories, Shadowboxing (Scribe, 2006), was short-listed for the 2006 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards. He teaches creative writing at the University of Melbourne and has worked as a writer and curator in collaboration with photographers, filmmakers, and artists.

Vivienne Cleven was born in 1968 in Surat, Queensland, and grew up in western Queensland. She left school at the age of thirteen to work with her father as a jillaroo: building fences, mustering cattle, and performing various jobs on stations throughout Queensland and New South Wales. Her novel Bitin' Back (University of Queensland Press, 2001) won the David Unaipon Award for Indigenous Writers and was short-listed for the Courier-Mail Book of the Year and the South Australian Premier's awards. Her novel Her Sister's Eye (University of Queensland Press, 2002) was short-listed for the People's Choice of One Book One Brisbane and for the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing.

Louise Crisp lives in Victoria and is the author of the collections Ruby Camp: A Snowy River Series (Spinifex Press, 1998) and Uplands (Five Islands Press, 2007). [End Page 179]

Robyn Davidson is the author of the books Tracks (Random House, 1995), the story of her solitary walk across the Australian deserts using camels to carry her gear, and Desert Places (Viking, 1996), an account of the two years she lived in North India and travelled with pastoral nomads. She is also the editor of The Picador Book of Journeys (Picador/Pan MacMillan, 2001). Currently, she is doing re- search on nomadism—ancient and modern—and is a MacGeorge Fellow at Melbourne University. She divides her time among England, India, and Australia.

Luke Davies is the author of the novels Candy (Ballantine Books, 1998) and Isabelle the Navigator (Berkley Books, 2002) and four volumes of poetry, including Running with Light (Allen & Unwin, 1999) and Totem (Allen & Unwin, 2004), which won the Grace Leven Poetry Prize, the John Bray Award, the Age of Poetry Book of the Year, and the overall Age Book of the Year. He has published his short stories widely, and he coauthored the screenplay for the recently released Candy, a film adaptation of his novel.

Adrienne Eberhard was born in Dover, Tasmania, and now lives on the D'Entrecasteaux Channel, south of Hobart. She is the author of two collections of poetry: Agamemnon's Poppies (Black Pepper, 2003) and Jane, Lady Franklin (Black Pepper, 2004).

Stephen Edgar lives in Sydney. He has published six collections of poetry, the most recent being Other Summers (Black Pepper, 2006). He is the recipient of the Grace Leven Poetry Prize, the Australian Book Review Poetry Prize, and the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal.

Delia Falconer lives in Sydney, Australia. Her first novel, The Service of Clouds (Picador, 1999), was short-listed for the Miles Franklin Award and other major awards. Her second book, The Lost Thoughts of Soldiers (Picador, 2005), was short-listed for...