In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

The Americas 62.4 (2006) 651-653

[Access article in PDF]

Inter-American Notes

Awards, Fellowships & Prizes

Conference on Latin American History

As announced at its luncheon on January 6, 2006 at the American Historical Association in Philadelphia, the Conference on Latin American History recognized the superb achievement of the following scholars:

The Bolton-Johnson Prize(For best book in English on any significant aspect of Latin American History [$1,000 award]):

Emilio Kouri, A Pueblo Divided: Business, Property and Community in Papantla, Mexico (Stanford, 2004).

Honorable Mention: Bryan McCann, Hello, Hello Brazil: Popular Music in the Making of Modern Brazil (Duke, 2004).

The Warren Dean Memorial Prize (In odd years, awarded for the history of Brazil [$500 award]):

Todd Diacon, Stringing Together a Nation: Candido Mariano de Silva Rondon and the Construction of Modern Brazil, 1906-1930 (Duke, 2004).

Honorable Mention: Linda Lewin, Surprise Heirs, 2 vols. (Stanford, 2003).

The Howard Francis Cline Memorial Prize (Awarded biennially to the book or article in English, German, or a Romance language judged to make the most significant contribution to the history of Indians in Latin America [$200]):

Frank Salomon, The Cord Keepers: Khipus and Cultural Life in a Peruvian Village (Duke, 2004).

Honorable Mention: Stephanie Wood, Transcending Conquest: Nahua Views of Spanish Colonial Mexico (Oklahoma, 2003). [End Page 651]

The Conference on Latin American History Prize (For mostdistinguished article published other than in HAHR or The Americas [$200 award])

Paul Gootenberg, "Secret Ingredients: The Politics of Coca in U.S.-Peruvian Relations, 1915-65," Journal of Latin American Studies (2004), pp. 233-65.

The Tibesar Prize(For most distinguished article in The Americas [$200 award]):

Hal Langfur, "The Return of the Bandeira: Economic Calamity, Historical Memory, and Armed Expeditions to the Sertao in Minas Gerais, Brazil, 1750-1808," 61:3 (January 2005), pp. 429-461.

Honorable Mention: Jeanette Favrot Peterson "Creating the Virgin of Guadalupe: The Cloth, The Artist, and Sources in Sixteenth-Century New Spain," 61:4 (April 2005), pp. 571-610.

The James Alexander Robertson Memorial Prize(For most distinguished article in Hispanic American Historical Review [$200 award]):

David Garrett, "'His Majesty's Most Loyal Vassals": The Indian Nobility and Túpac Amaru," 84:4 (November 2004), pp. 575-617.

Honorable Mention: Zephyr Frank, "Wealth Holding in Southeastern Brazil, 1815-60," 85:2 (May 2005), pp. 223-58.

The Lewis Hanke Prize (Supports transformation of dissertation into book [$1,000 award]):

Nichole Sanders, "Gender, Welfare, and the Mexican 'Miracle': The Politics of Modernization in Post-revolutionary Mexico, 1937-1958."

The Lydia Cabrera Award for Cuban Historical Studies(Supports study of Cuba between 1492 and 1868 [$5,000 award]):

Aisha Finch, "Junctures of Insurgency: Cuban Slaves and the Conspiracy of La Escalera, 1843-44" (New York University).

The James R. Scobie Memorial Award (Supports an exploratory research trip abroad to determine the feasibility of a Ph. D. dissertation topic dealing with some facet of Latin American history [$1,000 award]):

Consuelo Figueroa, "Becoming Chilean: Discourses and Contentions in the Construction of National Identity 1770s-1800s" (State University of New York, Stony Book).

Valeria Manzano, "The Making of Youth in Argentina, 1950-1970" (Indiana University, Bloomington). [End Page 652]

Robert Schwaller, "Evolution of Racial Hierarchies and Ideologies in Early Colonial Mexico" (Pennsylvania State University).

Distinguished Service Award (Conferred annually upon a person whose career in scholarship, teaching, publishing, librarianship, institutional development or other fields demonstrates significant contributions to the advancement of the study of Latin American history in the United States [$500 award and a plaque suitably inscribed]

Charles Hale

Funded Lecture

The Academy of American Franciscan History has received a significant donation from Dr. Richard Geenleaf to sponsor an annual lecture on the history of the Franciscans in the Americas. The lecture will be named the Antonine Tibesar, OFM, Memorial Lecture in honor of Father Tibesar, the long-time Director of the Academy. A major scholar will be invited each year to deliver the lecture. The Academy is extremely grateful to Dr. Greenleaf for his extraordinary generosity.



Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 651-653
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.