Seed and plant transfer guidelines are offered for 11 species of sagebrush (Artemisia arbuscula, A. bigelovii, A. cana, A. rothrockii, A. longiloba, A. argillosa, A. rigida, A. nova, A. tripartita, A. pygmaea, and A. tridentata). These species constitute the true sagebrushes of the subgenus Tridentatae of Artemisia. The geographic distribution of each species serves as the geographic boundary for the 11 seed zones, with the additional restriction that seeds should not be moved farther than 483 km (300 mi) to their target planting site, and if less than 483 km, not outside of their native distribution. For A. tridentata, seed transfer should ensure that subspecies are planted with respect to moisture and elevational gradients. For all other species, no additional transfer guidelines are proposed based on changes in elevation, but when local data suggest moisture gradients and ranges of elevation in excess of 458 m (1500 ft), conservative guidelines could further restrict seed transfer up 153 m (500 ft) in elevation, or down 305 m (1000 ft) in elevation, from the origin collection area. Correctly applied, seed and plant transfer guidelines minimize the risk of planting maladapted stock, increasing the survival and reproductive success to achieve restoration, rehabilitation, reclamation, and wildlife habitat improvement objectives.


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 141-148
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.