In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

French Historical Studies 27.4 (2004) 801-804

[Access article in PDF]


Camargo Foundation Fellowship Program

The Camargo Foundation maintains in Cassis, France, a center for the benefit of scholars who wish to pursue studies in the humanities and social sciences related to French and Francophone cultures. The foundation also supports creative projects by visual artists, photographers, video artists, filmmakers, media artists, composers, and writers. Creative projects do not have to have a specific French connection. For scholarly projects, research should be sufficiently advanced not to require resources unavailable in the Marseilles-Cassis-Aix region. These geographic limits affirm the foundation's identity and mission as a residential center as opposed to a research facility. The foundation offers, at no cost, thirteen furnished apartments, a reference library, a darkroom, an artist's studio, and a music composition studio. The residential fellowship is accompanied by a stipend of $3,500, awarded to each recipient of the grant. The normal term of residence is one semester (early September to mid-December or mid-January to May 31; the precise dates are announced each year). Applicants may include university and college faculty, including professors emeriti, who intend to pursue special studies while on leave from their institutions; independent scholars working on specific projects; secondary school teachers taking leaves of absence to work on pedagogical or scholarly projects; graduate students whose academic residence and general examination requirements have been met and for whom a stay in France would be beneficial in completing the dissertation; and visual artists, photographers, video artists, filmmakers, media artists, composers, and writers with specific projects to complete. Applicants from all countries are welcome. The application deadline is January 15 for the following academic year.

For more information and application forms please visit the foundation's Web site at or write to the Camargo Foundation, U.S. Secretariat, 125 Park Square Ct., 400 Sibley St., St. Paul, MN 55101-1928.

Fellowships, Awards, and Prizes Sponsored by the Society for French Historical Studies David H. Pinkney Prize

The Society for French Historical Studies announces the David H. Pinkney Prize competition for the best book in French history published in 2004 by a citizen of the United States or Canada or by an author with a full-time appointment at a U.S. or Canadian college or university. Books on any aspect and period of French history will be considered. Submissions in advance of publication are not eligible, nor are edited works. The deadline for submissions [End Page 801] is December 31, 2004. The winner, who receives $1,500, will be announced at the annual meeting of the society. Publishers should send one copy of each submission to each member of the committee: Professor Clare Crowston (Chair), Department of History, 506 W. Michigan, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL 61801 (; Professor Catherine Kudlick, Department of History, University of California, Davis, CA 95616; Professor Daniel Smail, Department of History, Fordham University, Bronx, NY 10458-5159; and Professor Leonard V. Smith, Department of History, Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH 44074-1095.

Gilbert Chinard Prize

The Gilbert Chinard Prize is awarded jointly by the Society for French Historical Studies and the Institut Fran├žais de Washington for distinguished scholarly books published in North America in 2004 in the history of themes shared by France and North, Central, and South America. Historical studies of any area or period are acceptable. The prize of $1,000 is awarded annually for a book or manuscript in page proof. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting of the Society for French Historical Studies. The deadline for submissions is December 15, 2004. Please direct inquiries to the chair of the prize committee, Professor Sylvia Neeley, Department of History, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA 16802 ( The other committee members are Professor Whitney Walton, Department of History, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2087; and Professor Vanessa Schwartz, Department of History, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA 90089-0034. Publishers should send one copy of the submission to each committee member.

The William Koren Jr. Prize

This prize of $1,000 is awarded for the...


Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 801-804
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Archive Status
Archived 2004
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.