In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Major Tribal Nations and Bands Mentioned in this Issue

This list is provided as a service to those readers interested in further communications with the tribal communities and governments of American Indian and Native nations. Inclusion of a government in this list does not imply endorsement of or by SAIL in any regard, nor does it imply the enrollment or citizenship status of any writer mentioned. Some communities have alternative governments and leadership that are not affiliated with the United States, Canada, or Mexico, while others are not currently recognized by colonial governments. We have limited the list to those most relevant to the essays published in this issue, thus, not all bands, towns, or communities of a particular nation are listed.

We make every effort to provide the most accurate and up-to-date tribal contact information available, a task that is sometimes quite complicated. Please send any corrections or suggestions to SAIL Editorial Assistant, Studies in American Indian Literatures, Department of Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures, 235 Bessey Hall, Michigan State University, East Lansing MI 48824-1033, or send an e-mail to

Cherokee Nation
Chadwick Smith, Principal Chief
P.O. Box 948
Tahlequah OK 74465
918-458-5580 [End Page 97]

Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
Leon D. Jones, Principal Chief
P.O. Box 455
Cherokee NC 28719

Hopi Tribal Council
Wayne Taylor Jr., Chairperson
P.O. Box 123
Kykotsmovi AZ 86039

Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation
Kenneth M. Reels, Chairman
P.O. Box 3060
Mashantucket CT 06339

Osage Nation
Osage Tribal Council
Jim R Gray, Principal Chief
P.O. Box 779
Pawhuska OK 74056

Central Council Tlingit and Haida Indian Nations of Alaska
320 W. Willoughby, Suite 300
Juneau AK 99801



Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 97-98
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.