In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  • Election Watch

Election Results (March–June 1999)

Algeria: After six of the seven presidential candidates withdrew in protest the day before the presidential elections on April 15, the only remaining candidate, Abdelaziz Bouteflika, a former foreign minister favored by the military, won with 73.8 percent of the vote. Ahmed Taleb Ibrahimi, despite withdrawing, won 12.5 percent. Voter turnout was officially reported at 60.3 percent, but opposition leaders charged that both the results and the turnout figures were falsified.

Armenia: In May 30 elections to the 131-seat National Assembly, the Unity Bloc of Defense Minister Vazgen Sarkisian and former Communist leader Karen Demirchian took 56 seats. The Communist Party came in a distant second with 10 seats. Observers voiced serious concerns over the administration of the election.

Benin: In March 30 elections to the 83-seat Assemblée Nationale, parties in opposition to President Mathieu Kérékou won a slim majority with 42 seats. The Benin Renaissance, the largest opposition party, led by former president Nicéphore Soglo, won 27 seats. Pro-Kérékou parties, including the Democratic Renewal Party (11 seats), the Action Front for Renewal and Development-Alafia (10 seats), and the Social Demo-cratic Party (9 seats), won a total of 41 seats.

Djibouti: Ismael Omar Guelleh of the ruling Popular Rally for Progress won 74.4 percent of the vote in April 9 presidential balloting, defeating independent candidate Moussa Ahmed Idriss, who won 25.6 percent. Election observers representing the Organization of African Unity, the Arab League, and the International Francophone Organization dismissed allegations of fraud leveled by supporters of the defeated candidate. Turnout was approximately 60 percent.

Equatorial Guinea: In elections for the unicameral 80-seat House of People’s Representatives on March 7, the Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea of President Teodoro Obiang won a landslide victory with 75 seats. The Popular Union won 4 seats and the Social Democratic Rally, 1. Opposition leaders charged fraud.

Fiji: The opposition Fiji Labour Party swept March 8 and 15 elections to the 71-seat House of Representatives, winning 37 seats. With its coalition partners, it controls 52 seats. Its leader, Mahendra Chaudhry, was sworn in as the country’s first ethnic Indian leader.

Indonesia: Parliamentary elections took place on June 7. Results will be reported in a future issue.

Malawi: Presidential and parliamentary elections were postponed until June 15 due mainly to logistical delays with voter registration. Results will be reported in a future issue.

Nepal: In elections to the 205-seat House of Representatives on May 3 and 17, the Nepali Congress Party, led by Krishna Prasad Bhattarai and Girija Prasad Koirala, won a majority of 110 seats. The Nepal Communist Party-United Marxist-Leninist Party, led by Man Mohan Adhikari and Madhav Kumar Nepal, won 67 seats. The National Democratic Party, led by Surya Bahadur Thapa, won 11 seats.

Panama: Mireya Moscoso of the Union for Panama coalition won 44.8 percent of the votes in the May 2 presidential election, defeating Martin Torrijos of the New Nation Alliance coalition, who won 37.8 percent, and Alberto Vallarino of the Opposition Action coalition, who came in third with 17.4 percent. In concurrent balloting for the unicameral 72-seat Legislative Assembly, Torrijos’ Democratic Revolutionary Party won 34 seats; Moscoso’s Arnulfista Party won 18; the Christian Demo-cratic Party, 5; the Solidarity Party, 4; the Nationalist Republican Liberal Movement, 3; and the National Liberal Party, 3.

Slovakia: In the first round of presidential elections held on May 15, Rudolf Schuster of the Party of Civic Understanding captured 47.4 percent of the vote, defeating former prime minister Vladimír Meèiar of the Movement for a Democratic Slovakia, who won 37.2 percent. Independent candidate Magdaléna Vá(check)áryová came in third with 6.6 percent. In the runoff on May 29, Schuster won 57.2 percent, defeating Meèiar, who won 42.8 percent.

South Africa: The African National Congress (ANC) swept elections to the 400-seat National Assembly on June 2, winning 266 seats, one seat short of a two-thirds majority. The Democratic Party came in second with 38 seats, followed by the Inkatha Freedom...

Additional Information

Print ISSN
pp. 178-181
Launched on MUSE
Open Access
Back To Top

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Without cookies your experience may not be seamless.