We are unable to display your institutional affiliation without JavaScript turned on.
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE
OR

Find using OpenURL

About Our Contributors
In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

  

John Atlas is a long-time public interest lawyer and the author of Seeds of Change: The Story of ACORN, America's Most Controversial Antipoverty Community Organizing Group. He can be reached at jatlas4@comcast.net.

  

Ben Becker is a Ph.D. candidate in U.S. history at the City University of New York's Graduate Center. He can be reached at bbecker@gc.cuny.edu.

  

Peter Dreier teaches politics at Occidental College. His latest book is The 100 Greatest Americans of the 20th Century: A Social Justice Hall of Fame, and he can be reached at dreier@oxy.edu.

  

Liza Featherstone is a contributing writer at the Nation and her writing on labor issues has appeared in Slate, Salon, Newsday, the New York Times, and many other publications. She is the author of Selling Women Short: The Landmark Battle for Workers' Rights at Wal-Mart and the co-author of Students Against Sweatshops. She teaches in the Union Semester program at the Murphy Institute and in NYU's journalism school, and can be reached at lfeather@panix.com.

  

Steve Fraser is a writer, editor, and historian. He can be reached at fraser927@aol.com.

  

Joshua B. Freeman teaches history at Queens College, the CUNY Graduate Center, and the Murphy Institute. He is currently writing a history of the United States since World War II, and can be reached at JFreeman@gc.cuny.edu.

  

Fernando Gapasin is a union organizer, labor educator, and former professor of Industrial Relations and Chicana/o Studies. He is the author of "United Farm Workers" in The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States and co-author of Solidarity Divided: The Crisis in Organized Labor and a New Path toward Social Justice. He can be reached at fgapasin@earthlink.net.

  

Nichole Gracely has written about Amazon for www.dissidentvoice.org. She can be reached at nicholegracely@gmail.com.

  

Lois Rita Helmbold is a retired professor and former chair of the Women's Studies Department at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas. She is currently a Fulbright Senior Lecturer in the American Culture and Literature Department at Ege University (Izmir, Turkey), and can be reached at lois. helmbold@gmail.com.

  

Mark Levinson is the chief economist of the Service Employees International Union. He can be reached at mark.levinson@seiu.org.

  

Kathryn Lofton is the Sarai Ribicoff Associate Professor of Religious Studies and American Studies at Yale University. Her first book, Oprah: The Gospel of an Icon, used the example of Oprah Winfrey to explore the formation of religion in modern America. She is currently working on several projects, including a study of sexuality and religion; an analysis of parenting practices in twentieth-century America; and a religious history of Bob Dylan. She can be reached at kathryn.lofton@yale.edu.

  

Stephanie Luce is an associate professor at the Murphy Institute, City University of New York and the author of Fighting for a Living Wage. She studies low-wage work, globalization and labor standards, and labor/community coalitions, and can be reached at stephanie.luce@mail.cuny.edu.

  

Jack Metzgar is Professor Emeritus of Humanities and Social Justice at Roosevelt University in Chicago, and the author of Striking Steel: Solidarity Remembered. He can be reached at jmetzgar@roosevelt.edu.

  

David S. Pedulla is a Sociology and Social Policy Ph.D. candidate at Princeton University. His research examines the consequences of the rise in precarious labor utilization, race and gender stratification in the labor market, and the ways that unemployment shapes political attitudes. He can be reached at dpedulla@princeton.edu.

  

Robert Pollin is a professor of economics and co-director of the Political Economy Research Institute (PERI) at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst. He can be reached at pollin@econs.umass.edu.

  

James Rhodes is a Simon Research Fellow in the Department of Sociology, University of Manchester. He has also spent time as a Visiting Scholar at the Center for Working-Class Studies at Youngstown State University. His research interests are focused on race, class, inequalities, and deindustrialization, and he can be reached at james.rhodes@manchester.ac.uk.

  

Jeffrey Sklansky teaches in the Department of History at the University of Illinois-Chicago...


You must be logged in through an institution that subscribes to this journal or book to access the full text.

Shibboleth

Shibboleth authentication is only available to registered institutions.

Project MUSE

For subscribing associations only.