We are unable to display your institutional affiliation without JavaScript turned on.
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE

Find using OpenURL

Rent from DeepDyve Rent from DeepDyve

Eugene A. Forsey Prize: In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History
In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

The Canadian Committee on Labour History invites submissions for the Eugene A. Forsey Prize for graduate and undergraduate work on Canadian labour and working-class history.

Prizes are awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay, or the equivalent, and for the best graduate thesis completed in the past three years. The awards are determined by separate committees established by the executive of the cclh . In the spirit of the journal Labour/Le Travail itself, the committees interpret the definition of Canadian labour and working-class history broadly.

Undergraduate essays may be nominated by course instructors, but nominators are limited to one essay per competition. Additionally, authors may submit their own work. Essays not written at a university or college may be considered for the undergraduate awards.

For the graduate prize, supervisors may nominate one thesis per competition or an author of a thesis may submit a copy. Submissions of both MA and PhD theses are welcome. Theses defended on or after 1 May 2010 are eligible for consideration in the current competition.

The Prize is supported by an anonymous donor. With the consent of the late Dr. Forsey’s family, the cclh chose to name the Prize in his honour because of his pioneering work in the field of Canadian labour history. Dr. Forsey was Research Director of the Canadian Congress of Labour and later the Canadian Labour Congress and also served on the committee which founded Labour/Le Travail.

The deadline for submissions in the current competition is 1 July 2013. Prizes will be announced in a forthcoming issue of Labour/Le Travail. Previous winners of the Prize are listed on the cclh website. To submit entries to the competition, four copies of essays and one copy of a thesis must be sent to Forsey Prize, Canadian Committee on Labour History, c/o Centre for State and Legal Studies, Athabasca University, 1 University Drive, Athabasca, AB T9S 3A3 Canada.

2012 Forsey Winners

Jacob Aaron Carliner Remes, “Cities of Comrades: Urban Disasters and the Formation of the North American Progressive State,” PhD thesis, Duke University, 2010.

Anna A. MacNeil, “ ‘Spirit in the Face of Decline’: The Formation of the Rise and Follies of Cape Breton Island, 1977–1985,” undergraduate thesis, Cape Breton University, 2012.


Prix Eugene A. Forsey: En Histoire Canadienne Du Travail Et De La Classe Ouvrière.

Copyright © 2013 Canadian Committee on Labour History
Project MUSE® - View Citation
"Eugene A. Forsey Prize: In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History." Labour / Le Travail 71.1 (2013): 1-1. Project MUSE. Web. 8 Jan. 2014. <http://muse.jhu.edu/>.
(2013). Eugene A. Forsey Prize: In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History. Labour / Le Travail 71(1), 1. The Canadian Committee on Labour History. Retrieved January 8, 2014, from Project MUSE database.
"Eugene A. Forsey Prize: In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History." Labour / Le Travail 71, no. 1 (2013): 1-1. http://muse.jhu.edu/ (accessed January 8, 2014).
T1 - Eugene A. Forsey Prize: In Canadian Labour and Working-Class History
JF - Labour / Le Travail
VL - 71
IS - 1
SP - 1
EP - 1
PY - 2013
PB - The Canadian Committee on Labour History
SN - 1911-4842
UR - http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/labour_le_travail/v071/71.article.html
N1 - Issue 71, Spring 2013
ER -


You must be logged in through an institution that subscribes to this journal or book to access the full text.


Shibboleth authentication is only available to registered institutions.

Project MUSE

For subscribing associations only.