We are unable to display your institutional affiliation without JavaScript turned on.
Browse Book and Journal Content on Project MUSE
OR

Find using OpenURL

Educational Programs for Deaf Students
In lieu of an abstract, here is a brief excerpt of the content:

SCHOOLS AND PROGRAMS IN THE UNITED STATES

This listing provides directory information on schools and programs in the United States that enroll or provide services to children who are deaf or hard of hearing. Under each state is an alphabetical listing by city of (1) special schools and center programs (residential, day), (2) local programs, (3) other program types. To update or add a program listing for the next issue, contact Deirdre Mullervy, 800 Florida Avenue NE, Washington, DC 20002, 202-651-5489 (fax), Deirdre.mullervy@gallaudet.edu.

For information such as grade levels covered, services available, and communication modes used, please see the chart on p. xxx. Programs listed in the chart include only those that returned the American Annals of the Deaf 2013 Reference Issue Program Questionnaire.

ALABAMA

Special Schools or Centers

Residential/Boarding/Day

Alabama Institute for Deaf & Blind
600 St. Clair Avenue, Bldg #2
Huntsville, AL 35801
Voice: 256-539-7881
TTY: Same
Email: smith.karla@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org
Director of Field Services: Karla Smith

Day Only

Preschool Ctr for the Sensory Impaired
1050 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36604
Voice: 251-433-1234
TTY: Same
Email: moran.jennifer@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.preschoolcenterforthesensoryimpaired.org
Executive Director: Jennifer Moran

Regional Centers and Special Schools under the Alabama Institute for the Deaf and the Blind

Residential/Boarding/Day

AIDB/Alabama School for the Deaf
205 South Street East, P.O. Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161-0698
Voice: 256-761-3214
TTY: Same
Videophone: 866-936-0016
Email: millard.paul@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org and/or www.asdsilentwarriors.com
Principal: Paul Millard

AIDB-Helen Keller School
P.O. Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161
Voice: 256-761-3251
TTY: Same
Email: atkinson.christy@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org
Principal: Christy Atkinson

Day Only

AIDB-Birmingham Regional Center
220 34th Street, South
Birmingham, AL 35222
Voice: 205-328-3989
TTY: Same
Email: turk.larscene@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.state.al.us
Director: Larscene Turk

AIDB-Dothan Regional Center
111 Medical Drive
Dothan, AL 36303
Voice: 334-677-6270
Web: www.aidb.org

AIDB-Huntsville Regional Center
600 St. Clair Avenue, Bldg. 2
Huntsville, AL 35801
Voice: 205-539-7881
TTY: Same
Email: smith.karla@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org
Director: Karla Smith

AIDB-Mobile Regional Center
1050 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36604
Voice: 251-432-7777
Email: jones.michelle@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org
Regional Director: Michelle F. Jones

AIDB-Montgomery Regional Center
432 E. Jefferson St.
Montgomery, AL 36104-
Voice: 334-262-0824
TTY: Same
Web: www.aidb.org

AIDB-E.H. Gentry Facility
P.O. Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161
Voice: 256-761-3406
TTY: Same
Email: fields.travis@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org
Interim Executive Director: Travis Fields

AIDB-Talladega Regional Center
P.O. Box 698
Talladega, AL 35161
Voice: 256-761-3370
TTY: Same
Videophone: 256-474-0634
Email: robinson.patrick@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org
Director: Patrick Robinson

AIDB-Tuscaloosa Regional Center
2412 Skyland Boulevard East
Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
Voice: 205-345-2883
Email: mcgee.jan@aidb.state.al.us
Web: http://www.aidb.org/
Regional Director: Jan McGee

AIDB-Shoals Regional Center
512 N. Main Street
Tuscumbia, AL 35674
Voice: 256-383-3503
TTY: Same
Email: smith.karla@aidb.state.al.us
Web: www.aidb.org

Local/Regional Programs

Birmingham City Schools
P.O. Drawer 10007
Birmingham, AL 35202
Voice: 205-231-4766
Email: rstucker@bhamcityschools.org
Executive Director of Special Education: Ruth Tucker

Blount County Special Education
P.O. Box 578
Oneonta, AL 35121
Voice: 205-625-4102
Email: bbrothers@blountboe.net
Web: www.blountcoe.net
Coordinator: Becky Brothers

Chambers County Board of Education
PO Box 408-D
Lafayette, AL 36862
Voice: 334-864-9343 x203
Email: sherriffdg@chambersk12.org
Web: www.chambersk12.org
Coordinator of Special Education: Diane Sherriff

Cherokee County Schools
725 East Main Street
Centre, AL 35960
Voice: 256-927-6154
Hearing Impaired Teacher: Nan Latham

DeKalb County Schools
P.O. Box 488
Rainsville, AL 35986
Voice: 256-638-4131
Email: pfgann@dekalbk12.org
Coordinator of Special Education: Pam Gann

Dothan City...



You must be logged in through an institution that subscribes to this journal or book to access the full text.

Shibboleth

Shibboleth authentication is only available to registered institutions.

Project MUSE

For subscribing associations only.